Explore UAB


Dale Colorado, D.O., MPH, Associate Professor and Vice-Chair of Education in the UAB Heersink School of Medicine Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, was one of 10 physiatrists recently selected by the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) for the AAPM&R Future Leaders Program.

The AAPM&R Future Leaders Program (formerly the Academy Leadership Program) was established by the Board of Governors in 2012 to identify a select number of diverse, emerging member leaders and to prepare them for specialty leadership and volunteerism, to encourage pursuit of future leadership positions, and to empower the specialty through the changes occurring in the health care environment.

As members of the 2022-2024 leadership class, participants go through a two-year curriculum that introduces them to association leadership, strategic planning, media skills, advocacy, and Academy governance, products and services.

The American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (AAPM&R) is the national medical specialty organization representing more than 10,000 physicians who are specialists in physical medicine and rehabilitation (PM&R). PM&R physicians, also known as physiatrists, treat a wide variety of medical conditions affecting the brain, spinal cord, nerves, bones, joints, ligaments, muscles, and tendons. Physiatrists utilize cutting‐edge as well as time‐tested treatments to maximize function and quality of life.