Hasson honored as outstanding clinician by American Thoracic Society

UAB’s Jack Hasson has been named the 2017 Outstanding Clinician by the American Thoracic Society.

jack hasson 2017Jack H. Hasson, M.D., Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care MedicineJack H. Hasson, M.D., clinical assistant professor in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine  in the Department of Medicine, part of the University of Alabama at Birmingham  School of Medicine, has received the American Thoracic Society 2017 Outstanding Clinician Award.

The American Thoracic Society is the world’s leading medical association dedicated to advancing clinical and scientific understanding of pulmonary diseases, critical illnesses and sleep-related breathing disorders. Founded in 1905 to combat tuberculosis, the ATS has grown into an international society with more than 15,000 members. The Outstanding Clinician Award, which recognizes devotion and excellence in the care of patients, will be presented at the ATS International Conference in May.

Hasson serves as director of Ambulatory Care Services for Pulmonary Medicine at UAB, where his innovative approaches to diagnosis and treatment are advancing patient care. Specifically, he was the first person to utilize portable ultrasound for outpatient pulmonary services that provided real-time imaging data for the heart, thoracic pleura and abdomen.

“Jack is widely recognized as a caring and dedicated physician by his patients and peers,” said Victor J. Thannickal, M.D., director of the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy and Critical Care Medicine. “He is an exemplary clinician and role model for our trainees.”

Hasson earned his medical degree from the Medical College of Alabama in 1970, followed by a residency and fellowship in pulmonary medicine at University Hospital. Hasson has served in numerous leadership roles, including president of the Alabama Thoracic Society, board member for the American Lung Association of Alabama and president of the Jefferson County Medical Society. He has been on the faculty since 2008.