People of UAB
Vinay Narasimha Krishna, M.D., received one of 15 KidneyX Redesign Dialysis prizes from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the American Society of Nephrology.
UAB’s Jim Bonner takes the reins of a forum for academic radiation oncology leaders.
UAB’s William Curry has been named to an advisory board of the state chapter of the American College of Physicians.
Researchers are spearheading efforts to understand the development of treatment-related health conditions in the context of accelerated aging.
Taylor Phillips is UAB’s first OD/MBA graduate.
UAB professor receives award for impact on children’s eye care.
Franks has been recognized with the 2019 Udall Undergraduate Scholarship for her efforts in environmental preservation.
Lolley has worked as a comprehensive ophthalmologist at Callahan Eye Hospital for more than 20 years.
This year’s symposium will feature Karen Glanz, Ph.D., and Jonathan Engel, Ph.D., as speakers.

Chris Farley, who graduated in December, will pursue his dream of becoming a professional opera singer.

Founded in 2017, the navigator program works with both recipients and donors to identify needs and guide each through the process to transplantation and post-transplant.
Several women from across UAB's campus have been recognized for their dedication and service to the community.
A UAB senior will begin life after graduation as a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate fellow.
Immigrant’s long journey ends in commencement walk Saturday.
This week, the UAB junior will travel to a D.C. conference and tell U.S. Sen. Richard Shelby about her research on Alzheimer’s disease.
Booker is not going to miss her shot. She wants to perform now and is planning a move to New York to pursue her theater career, then train in a medical profession later.
In Saturday’s commencement ceremony, the UAB senior will carry the Honors College banner.
UAB Biomedical Engineering Chair inducted to the highest professional distinction for engineers.
Kellie Flood, M.D., is a geriatrician and the associate chief medical and quality officer for Geriatrics Care Transitions at UAB.
Carmel McNicholas-Bevensee, Ph.D., teaches elementary school students the importance of knowing their bodies and forming healthy habits in an interactive day of community outreach.
A UAB School of Medicine professor and urogynecologist has received a career award from the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons. 
UAB students led their team to victory, bringing home the National Championship title for the third time in eight years.
BMEN is a peer mentoring program at UAB designed to provide academic and social support to black male students entering UAB.
A UAB senior will begin a graduate research fellowship in Germany this fall.
Stephen Mennemeyer, Ph.D., received the Mental Health Policy and Economics Research Award from the International Center of Mental Health Policy and Economics.
Freshman Dina Kasman won the lower college division, and junior Jacob Skiles won the upper college division.
A UAB gynecologic oncologist will serve in a scientific leadership role within a national gynecologic organization.
Kazamel’s duties will include planning more than 45 workshops on topics ranging from electromyography to neuromuscular ultrasound.
UAB gynecologic oncologist Huh will serve in a leadership role within a national gynecologic organization.
A UAB School of Public Health professor was recently honored for her contributions in epidemiology. 
Page 4 of 42