Date: Mon 3/13/2017

Time: 9:00 AM - 1:50 PM

Location: The Edge of Chaos Atrium Lister Hill Library, 4th floor
1700 University Boulevard Birmingham AL 35233

Agenda Download Agenda (PDF)

9:00 AM David Allison Welcome, Introduction, Overview
9:10 AM Lua Wilkinson
Mary Latimer
Select 6 papers (3 each) from the literature on obesity or energetics from the last 5 years that you judge to be at the pinnacle of importance, impact, or beautiful creativity and make a brief presentation about them offering views on why the papers chosen made the list and general principles extracted about what makes papers important, impactful, beautiful, or creative.
9:40 AM Camille Schneider,
Jennifer Davis
Choose at least 6 funded NSF obesity or energetics-oriented grants (3 each) that you judge to be especially cool and creative and extract some principles as to what made them so cool.
10:10 AM Sarah-Jeanne Salvy,
Liou Sun
Choose 4 funded Transformative R01 grants (2 each) and 4 NIH Pioneer Awards (2 each) from NIH RePorter (call these grants Group A). Choose 8 ordinary funded R01s (4 each) with an ‘A1’ designation from NIH RePorter (call these grants Group B). Compare Group A to Group B and try to extract some principles about what makes them different.
10:40 AM Rachel Orlandella,
Amber Kinsey
Choose 4 F31 or F32 grants (2 each) funded by NIH (from NIH RePorter) that are related to obesity or energetics and which you think are especially interesting and describe what makes them so interesting.
11:00 AM William Neumeier,
Stephen Carter
Choose 4 K grants (2 each) funded by NIH (from NIH RePorter) that are related to obesity or energetics and which you think are especially interesting and describe what makes them so interesting.
11:20 AM Anarina Le Murillo “The MacArthur Fellows Program celebrates and inspires the creative potential of individuals through no-strings-attached fellowships.” Please pick one person who does obesity/energetics research at UAB (they could be mentorees, faculty, or staff but may not include you, your mentor(s), or the NORC director) and imagine that you have been asked to nominate that person for the MacArthur fellowship. For the nominee write and then read aloud a nomination explaining why the nominee’s obesity/energetics research or ideas merits a MacArthur fellowship.
11:25 AM Mary Katherine
Osborn Ray,
Rachel Harley
Please pick 2 people you may or may not know who do or have done (they can be living or deceased, current or historical) obesity/energetics research that you think is especially creative or impactful and who are NOT at UAB. Imagine that you have been asked to introduce the three as they are being announced as either this year’s Lasker Award winner (one), Ted Prize winner (another), or Shaw Prize winner (the third) for their obesity/energetics research. Read each of the three introductions out loud, emphasizing what made/makes their research so creative, cool, important, or beautiful.
11:35 AM   Get Lunch
12:05 PM David Allison Ideas Challenge Part 1 – Each participant will be asked to write a title and abstract for a grant proposal addressing a particular question or challenge. No advance preparation needed – Bring a laptop.
12:35 PM Julie Locher Ideas Challenge Part 2 – Each participant will be given 1 minute to present to the group their idea. Awards will be given for best proposals in selected categories.
1:35 PM David Allison, Julie Locher Awards – Details will follow.
  1. Daniel Smith
  2. Aaron Fobian
  3. Brooks Wingo
1:50 PM Adjourn  

Awards for Faculty and Awards for Trainees (each):

  1. Most Creative
    Faculty & Staff recipient:  Greg Pavela PhD
    Post-doctoral Fellows recipient:  Lua Wilkinson PhD
    Pre-doctoral Fellows recipient: Rachael Orlandella
  2. Most Impactful
    Faculty & Staff recipient:  Lyse Norian PhD
    Post-doctoral Fellows recipient:  William Neumeier PhD
    Pre-doctoral Fellows recipient: Mary N Latimer
  3. Best Presentation
    Faculty & Staff recipient:  Kathryn Kaiser PhD
    Post-doctoral Fellows recipient: Marissa Gowey PhD
    Pre-doctoral Fellows recipient: Mary Katherine Osborn Ray