UAB School of Dentistry Professor S. Jean O’Neal, D.M.D., has been named this year’s recipient of the Ellen Gregg Ingalls/UAB National Alumni Society Award for Lifetime Achievement in Teaching. She will be honored at the Alumni Leadership Recognition and Awards Luncheon held in the ballroom at The Club at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Sept. 20.

The award is presented annually to a full-time, regular faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding dedication to teaching throughout his or her UAB career. Nominees must be past winners of the UAB President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching, which O’Neal received in 1995.

O’Neal is being recognized for her commitment to dental education. She chairs the UAB Department of Prosthodontics, a position she has held since 1998. She has published numerous scientific abstracts and articles and has been very active in clinical research, especially dealing with esthetic restorative dentistry and implantology. She is a member of the American College of Prosthodontists, the American College of Dentistry and the Academy of Dentistry International. 

O’Neal earned her dental degree in 1977, a certificate in fixed prosthodontics in 1979 and a master of science in dentistry in 1980 from the UAB School of Dentistry. She has been a member of the School of Dentistry faculty since 1980.