Thomas Morris Executive of the YearThomas Morris (pictured, left) named 2016 Executive of the YearThomas Morris, a student in the UAB School of Health ProfessionsExecutive Master of Science in Health Administration program, was named Executive Administrator of the Year at the 2016 Healthcare Awards presented by the Gwinnett (Georgia) Chamber. The award is given annually to a professional at the director level or higher who sets the standard through dedication and leadership.

Morris, the Atlanta Market Administrator for HCA Physician Services Group at Eastside Medical Center, beat out nine other finalists to win the top honor. Here is the description of why Morris won:

Blouin HSABlouin speaks to HQS studentsAnn Scott Blouin, RN, Ph.D., FACHE, Executive Vice President of Customer Relations at The Joint Commission, spends a day sharing experiences with students and alumni of the UAB School of Health ProfessionsDepartment of Health Services Administration.

Blouin, who has more than 30 years of healthcare administration, consulting and nursing experience, spent the morning with students of the Master of Science in Health Administration program, the #2 ranked program in the U.S. News & World Report rankings. Her lecture, titled “Value vs. Volume – Leadership Competencies for Integrated Delivery Systems”, focused on strategies and the value-based method of calculating success: ‘Value = Quality / Cost’.

Chuck StokesChuck Stokes (Class 17), EVP/COO, Memorial HermannThe prestigious Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award, presented annually by the President of the United States, has been awarded to Memorial Hermann Sugar Land Hospital. Two alumni of the UAB School of Health Professions’ Master of Science in Health Administration program hold significant roles in the hospital and the health system.

Chuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) is EVP/COO of the Memorial Hermann Health System, and Kate Willis (MSHA Class 49) is the director of Service Line Operations for Sugar Land Hospital.

“We’ve always seen our overarching strength as ‘family caring for family’ and this recognition doesn’t happen without the commitment and dedication of every member of the Memorial Hermann Sugar Land family,” said Greg Haralson, Senior Vice President and CEO of Memorial Hermann Sugar Land.

HCM Honors

At a reception on Thursday, November 10, 2016, the UAB School of Health ProfessionsHealth Care Management program delivered the program’s top annual awards and inducted 31 students into the Upsilon Phi Delta National Honor Society.

The program, housed in the Department of Health Services Administration named Faith Hickenbotham as the 2016 HCM Student Honor winner. Hickenbotham received nominations from five separate faculty members. Ferhat Zengul, Ph.D., was named the 2016 HCM Faculty Honor winner and dedicated the award to all his students.

HCM Honors 01Natalie Hackney: Abercrombie Award WinnerTaking home this year's Thompson T. Abercrombie Award was Natalie Hackney. The Abercrombie award is named after the first director of the undergraduate program. Back in 1982, it was the Bachelor of Science in Health Sciences program and was designed to prepare clinical professionals for mid-leval manager positions and to provide career progression opportunities for graduates of associate degree health professions programs.

Hackney, who began the HCM program in 2014 after 18 years as a Medical Lab Tech, won the award because she is that non-traditional student who honors the nature of the program's initial purpose. In her acceptance speech, a tearful Hackney told the crowd to stay in school no matter what because it is so difficult to go back to school at the age of 40. After graduating last fall, Hackney began working as a quality management analyst at UAB's Center for Nursing Excellence and is currently enrolled in graduate school.

FaithFaith Hickenbotham, 2016 HCM Student Honor This year’s Upsilon Phi Delta National Honor Society inductees are: Kara Alexis Arnold, Motasem Ashour, Matthew Barnes, Bethany S Butler, Sarah Clarissa Callaway, Tanzie Davontrae Compton, Ashley Dale Crowe, Paula Bridges Dixon, Jasmine Duncan, Charles Faulk, Luke Friedewald, Fantaye Hambisa, James Hester, Faith Hickenbotham, Kimberly Huerta, Keilah Min Gail Ingram, Jayla N Jarrett, Mallory Brooke Jordan, Erica Michelle McDonald, Bethany Paeton McGowan, Gailbriel R Moorer, Rebecca L Nix, Khaldia Khalil Osman, Kinzie P Owens, Kendall E Pierce, Grayson Nicole Sanders, Cody Harrison Smith, Kayla E Smith, JeanAnn N Smith, Matthew R Waldrop and Shaterra Dominique West.


The event also took time to highlight the Senior Honor Students’ Research Projects:

  • Kara Arnold (Jose’ Quintana, Ph.D., Mentor) “The Sustainability of Organizational Improvements Made in Anticipation of Accreditation Surveys”
  • Claire Callaway (Bryan Breland, DrPH, Mentor) “Effects of Hospital Mergers and Acquisitions on Quality of Care”
  • Ashley Crowe (Bryan Breland, DrPH, Mentor) “Perceptions of the Risk of Ovarian Cancer in College-Aged Women”
  • Jasmine Duncan (Jessica Williams, Ph.D., Mentor) “Social Determinants and Breast Cancer Screening in African American Women”
  • Charles Faulk (Pamela Paustian, Ph.D., Mentor) “Affordable Care Act and How It Affects the Burnout Rates of Pediatric Physicians”

The event was held at the UAB National Alumni Society House on the campus of UAB.

FerhatFerhat Zengul, Ph.D., 2016 HCM Faculty Honor

InnoHack WinnersInnoHack Winners: Baptiste, Payton, Thadani, MartinEvita Payton, a dual Master of Science in Health Administration / Master of Science in Health Informatics student in the UAB School of Health Professions, was a member of the winning team at InnoHack 2016, which included Theodule Jean Baptiste, Jay Martin and Rahul Thadani, split the grand prize of  $2,500 for their idea of implementing the concept of a brick and mortar Community Care House with a virtual presence. It will build reliable community centered care by leveraging technology to restore patient trust in the Primary Care Provider, improve access, and eliminate waste.