Transformational Gifts – Impacting the Present and Future

At the 50th Anniversary Celebration in 2016, we highlighted our priorities and areas of needed support for the next 50 years. Since April 2016, alumni and friends of the program have stepped up in a big way through philanthropic giving. Below we highlight our major gift supporters that have generously invested in our programs and students.


HIMSS logoAlabama Chapter of HIMSS Sponsored Travel Award

The Alabama Chapter of HIMSS Sponsored Travel Award will provide support for registration fees, travel and lodging for UAB HI students attending the HIMSS Annual Conference & Exhibition or HIMSS International Conference. There will be an emphasis placed on those students who have had posters selected to present at either conference. The award will be given to students based on merit, academic promise and achievement in the field.

Click here to see why they chose UAB to support.


Neeysa Davis BiddleNeeysa Davis BiddleNeeysa Davis Biddle Endowed Scholarship in Health Administration

Neeysa Biddle, longtime healthcare leader of Ascension and St. Vincent’s Health Services, is the first female to endow a scholarship in the UAB School of Health Professions’ Department of Health Services Administration. Biddle, a double alumna earning a B.S. in Allied Health (currently Health Care Management) and an M.S. in Health Administration (MSHA Class 26), established the scholarship as an annual award delivered to students who may otherwise be unable to attend the UAB MSHA program.

Click here to read what inspired her to give back.


william featheringillWilliam W. FeatheringillWilliam W. Featheringill Scholarship in Health Informatics

Established by his daughter Elizabeth Pharo, this scholarship was endowed by SuccessEHS to honor Featheringill’s legacy as a visionary in health informatics.The endowment will support students in the UAB School of Health Professions’ Master of Science in Health Informatics program. The award will be given on the basis of merit as well as financial need and in a nod to Featheringill’s inventiveness, the student must demonstrate academic promise and achievement in health informatics.

Click here to learn about Featheringill's legacy.


Myron D. and Carol A. Fottler Endowed Support Fund for the PhD Program in Administration-Health Services

Myron Fottler, former director of the PhD Administration-Health Services program, and his wife, Carol, saw an opportunity to give back by establishing a scholarship and support fund to help full-time PhD-Health Administration students with tuition, fees and professional development experiences. During his time as program director, Fottler saw many PhD students making sacrifices financially during their studies and wanted to help aspiring PhD’s pursue their professional goals. Myron and his late wife Carol made the decision to support this fund annually and through an estate gift.


Parker and Ken BeasleyParker and Ken BeasleyThe Beasley-Hall Family Endowed Scholarship in Health Administration

Ken Beasley (MSHA Class 19) established a scholarship to support MSHA students after witnessing the impact that UAB HSA alumni are having in health care at the HSA 50th Anniversary Celebration. His gift supports residential MSHA students. Beasley attributes Dr. Houser’s example of generosity and commitment to him and his classmates, as well as other students, as his motivation to give back. Beasley’s son, Parker, joined the HSA family in Fall 2017 as a part of MSHA Class 53

Click here to read why he is honoring his family.


Terrell W. Herzig Endowed Award in Health Informatics

Terrell W. Herzig was a beloved faculty member who passed away unexpectedly in 2012. To honor his commitment to training leaders in health informatics and security, a collective group of alumni and friends of the university established this scholarship award in his memory.


Howard W. and Shannon H.S. Houser Endowed Scholarship in Health Services Administration

Howard Houser, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus, and Shannon Houser, Associate Professor, (HIM, 1993), have established a scholarship that is available to students department wide for assistance with tuition and fees. The Housers have elected to support this fund annually and through an estate gift from Dr. Howard Houser.


Howard Houser CHEN HuaHoward Houser and Chen HuaChen Hua Endowed Scholarship in Honor of Dr. Howard W. Houser

Chen (Trevor) Hua, MSHA Class 23, established the scholarship through a gift that honors his mentor and former professor, Dr. Howard W. Houser. The fund will provide support to MSHA students with preference given, but not limited to, international students with highest priority to ethnic Chinese students. 

Trevor Chen was a member of the only class of the UAB School of Health Professions' MSHA / Sino-American Joint Program in 1989. 

Click here to learn more about Houser's impact.


Stokes WebChuck and Judy StokesChuck and Judy Stokes Endowed Scholarship for Diversity and Inclusion

Chuck Stokes (MSHA Class 17) and his wife Judy recognize the importance of diversity and inclusion in the healthcare field. Their recently established Diversity and Inclusion Scholarship will support students enrolled in our Master of Science in Health Administration and Master of Science in Healthcare Quality and Safety programs.


Travel and Research Endowed Scholarship (Formal Name TBD)

Recently, an alumni committed to funding an endowed scholarship in the Department of Health Services Administration. The scholarship will be used to support travel and research for doctoral students.


Lucas Prather Tom MillerLucas Prather and Tom MillerQuorum Scholar in Health Administration

Quorum Health Corporation established the first full-ride scholarship in the MSHA program’s 51 year history. The gift was spearheaded by Tom Miller (MSHA Class 18), CEO of Quorum Health Corporation. The scholarship was awarded to Lucas Prather (MSHA Class 52).

To learn more about this gift and the recipient click here.


Thank you to all our supporters!

We have a long history of generous alumni. To see the many endowments and who has pledged their support, please click here.