SHP DEI EventsThe SHP Diversity, Equity and Inclusiong Committee will be holding two meetings this week to talk about current issues. Initially set up to discuss COVID-19, these meetings will now focus on the events surrounding the death of George Floyd. We know there are those of you who feel unsafe or even unsure about your place. We want you to know we are working on change in SHP, at UAB and beyond. There is no better time than now for all of us to support each other and we hope you will join us.

  • Faculty and Staff: June 2, Noon - 1:30 p.m.
  • Undergraduate Students: June 4, 4:00 - 5:30 p.m.
  • Graduate Students: June 4, 6:00 - 7:30 p.m.

Please check your UAB emails for instructions on accessing the meeting for your group.

The School of Health Professions (SHP) Student Awards will be managed by the Student Affairs Committee (SAC) with endorsement from the Program Directors. Due to COVID-19, we were not able to recognize our exceptional students with an award ceremony. Nonetheless, it does not diminish their excellence or their accomplishments.

Paula Chandler-Laney, Ph.D., associate professor in the Department of Nutrition Sciences and Katherine Meese, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Department of Health Services Administration are named 2020-21 UAB Honors Faculty Fellows by the UAB Honors College.

Shannon H. Houser, Ph.D., MPH, RHIA, FAHIMA, professor in the UAB Department of Health Services Administration, will receive the 2020 AAHIM Distinguished Member Award from the Alabama Association of Health Information Management. The award is given annually to an active member with at least 10 years’ experience “marked by distinction, excellence of service and contribution to the profession.”