Mentorship Logo RGBFifteen faculty members were honored April 20 at a ceremony recognizing the University of Alabama at Birmingham's outstanding mentors. The 2016 Graduate School Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentorship Ceremony drew more than 120 people to celebrate the honoree's achievements.

Leigh Ann Bray, Rachael Mumbower and Zoran Pavicevic will receive $10,000 each during the next two years from the Jonas Center, which is focused on expanding the pipeline of nursing faculty and advanced practice nurses. The UAB School of Nursing will match this funding.

elizabeth bevin streamBiology doctoral student Elizabeth Bevan received a $15,000 P.E.O. Sisterhood Scholar Award for her high academic achievement and potential for having a positive impact on society — such as the future for Kemp's ridley sea turtles.

Erin BurnsI am one of the lucky ones - one of those mythical graduate students who maintains a lasting relationship with a PhD mentor that extends beyond asking for recommendation letters. But wouldn’t it be wonderful if there were a way to learn how to be a mentor? That’s why UAB is holding Mentoring Week from April 18th-22nd.

Congratulations to Aissatou Barry-Blocker, Sushma Boppana, Shima Dowla, David Osula, Taylor Pope, Sarah Teitell, Dustin Whitaker, Deborah Bowers, Ashley (A.T.) Helix and Rachel Stokes, who will spend the next year learning to address social factors that affect health and developing leadership skills.