Pathology Teaching Faculty well represented with 2013 Argus Awards

2013 Argus AwardsEight Department of Pathology teaching faculty were among the faculty honored by students from the UAB School of Medicine with 2013 Argus Awards.

The Argus Awards, created in 1996 to recognize faculty members, give medical students the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education. Faculty are nominated by course evaluations and students vote to select award winners in each category.

Pathology teaching faculty who were winners and runners up of the 2013 Argus Awards include:

Winner of the Best Introductory Module for the third straight year was Fundamentals 2, directed by Peter Anderson, D.V.M, Ph.D., and Ken Waites, M.D.  The Best Lecturer in Fundamentals 2 for the fourth year in a row was Dr. Waites while Dr. Anderson was voted runner up.  The Cardiovascular Module directed by Silvio Litovsky, M.D. received the award for Best MS1 Organ System Module and the Pulmonary Module directed by C. Bruce Alexander, M.D. was voted runner up.  Dr. Litovsky was also runner up for the award of best lecturer in the Cardiovascular Module.  The award for Best Lecturer in the Hematology- Oncology Module went to Vishnu Reddy, M.D., while Marisa Marques, M.D. and Jill Adamski, M.D., Ph.D. shared the runner up position.  And Lea Novak, M.D. was recognized as the Best Lecturer in the Reproductive Module; while the Reproduction Module which Dr. Novak directs was designated as runner up for the Best MS2 Organ System Module.

Kudos to all of the department of pathology teaching faculty who contribute to the teaching mission of our department. 

2013 Argus Awards Photo 1

2013 Argus Awards Photo 2