This is a photo of the UAB Chamber Trio.The University of Alabama at Birmingham Chamber Trio consists of Dr. Denise Gainey, clarinet, Dr. James Zingara, trumpet and Dr. Christopher Steele, piano. The group was established in 2012 and has performed throughout Alabama, Mississippi, North Carolina and Virginia. The UAB Chamber Trio has generated many new pieces for this genre including works by William Price, Jeffrey Boehm, Juan Maria Solare, and Virginia Samuel.
This is a photo of the UAB Brass Quintet.The University of Alabama at Birmingham Faculty Brass Quintet consists of Dr. James Zingara and Dr. Steve Roberts, trumpets, Dr. Martin Cochran, euphonium, Jeff Koonce, trombone, and Scott Robertson, tuba. This group is unique not only because it is the only year-round faculty brass quintet in the State of Alabama, but also that it carries a euphonium, rather than a French horn, as its alto voice. This gives the group a somewhat darker sound and provides more flexibility in tonal color.

uab faculty jazz quintet

The UAB Faculty Jazz Quintet is made up of some of the finest jazz musicians in Alabama. The group is made up of a collection of UAB jazz professors Gary Wheat (saxophone), Michael Glaser (drums), Carlos Pino (guitar), Brandon Peeples (bass), and is led by UAB jazz director Steve Roberts (trumpet). They perform together regularly at UAB and around the region including a monthly concert on every second Thursday at noon at the UAB Hospital’s north pavilion atrium. This coming fall they will complete their second international tour of the country of Colombia.