Explore UAB

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Subscribe to Department of Surgery News

Awards and RecognitionDuring the 2020 American Transplant Congress (ATC), a joint meeting of the American Society of Transplantation (AST) and the American Society of Transplant Surgeons (ASTS), UAB Department of Surgery Assistant Professors Douglas Anderson, M.D., MS, Babak Orandi, M.D., Ph.D., M.Sc., and Associate Professor Jayme Locke, M.D., MPH, were selected as recipients of AST awards or appointed to ASTS committees.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the annual ATC was held virtually this year, including the awards ceremony. The goal of the ATC is to provide forum where new scientific and clinical information relevant to solid organ and tissue transplantation bring together transplant professionals– the conference averages 5,000+ attendees and has over 50 countries represented in attendance. This year, the theme was the “Science of Tomorrow Starts Today”.

Anderson, who also serves as the program director of the UAB Abdominal Transplant Fellowship, was appointed to a three-year term on the Surgeons’ Knowledge Assessment Committee of the Transplant Accreditation & Certification Council. In this role, Doug will be influential in developing transplant boards and ensuring fellowships maintain the highest standards.

Orandi was appointed to a three-year term on AST Scholarships & Grant Review Committee. In this role, Babak will serve as a “study section” reviewer for all ASTS grants and will aid in developing the next generation of surgeon-scientists.

Locke Recognized at AST AwardsLocke, who serves as the director of Division of Transplantation and director of the UAB Comprehensive Transplant Institute, was recognized and awarded the distinguished AST Clinical Science Investigator Award. You can learn more about Locke’s Lab and the research of her team by visiting the UAB TEAM website.

General Surgery Resident and member of the Locke Lab, Cozette Kale, M.D., recapped the award ceremony.

“She [Locke] is the epitome of the surgeon-scientist and mentor extraordinaire!” said Kale.

Locke is proud of her Division of Transplantation colleagues’ committee appointments and is honored to be the recipient of the AST Clinical Science Investigator Award.

“The UAB Division of Transplantation is full of wonderful leaders in the field of transplantation, and it is an honor to lead such a dedicated group of providers, researchers and surgeons,” said Locke. “I’m proud of the work of Drs. Anderson and Orandi as well as members of the Locke Lab. They have upheld the pillars of research and education that are so central to the mission of the division, department and institution as a whole.”