Faculty shine at NONPF Conference

Photo of UABSON faculty

By Erica Techo

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing faculty received national recognition at the 2022 National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties annual conference. A dozen UAB School of Nursing representatives were present, providing presentations, receiving honors and learning more about nurse practitioner education.

Highlights from the conference include:

  • Associate Professor Curry Bordelon, DNP, MBA, CRNP, CNE (DNP 2016), is the 2022 recipient of the Rising Star Award. This award recognizes faculty members with five or less years of experience in the nurse practitioner educator role who demonstrate extraordinary promise and make a positive impact on the nurse practitioner profession.
  • Interim Associate Dean for Graduate Clinical Education and Professor Aimee Holland, DNP, CRNP, WHNP-BC, NP-C, FAANP, FAAN (DNP 2012), has been elected to serve on the NONPF Board of Directors. Holland’s two-year term continues through April 2024 and provides an opportunity to actively optimize quality nurse practitioner education and to participate in policy formation for NONPF.
  • Instructor Rebecca Suttle, DNP, CRNP, AGACNP-BC (BSN 2010, MSN 2014, DNP 2018) has been invited to participate in the NONPF Faculty Leadership Mentorship program, a one-year program designed to further develop and refine essential knowledge, skills, and abilities for successfully leading nurse practitioner programs.
  • Assistant Professor Lauren Mays, DNP, CRNP, FNP-BC (BSN 2008, MSN 2010, DNP 2018), has been named co-chair for the Determinants of Health Special Interest Group for NONPF. Her term started in mid-April.
  • Faculty members Lauren Mays; Assistant Professor Katie Buys, DNP, MPH, CRNP, NP-C (MSN 2011, DNP 2014); Associate Professor Pamela Bowen, PhD, BA, CRNP, FNP-BC (BSN 1988, PhD 2012); Instructor Alice Bristow, MSN, CRNP, CNE, CWCN, FNP-BC (BSN 2006, MSN 2012, DNP 2019) and Associate Professor Loretta Lee, PhD, CRNP, FNP-BC (MSN 1991, PhD 2012) received the Outstanding Poster Award within their poster set.
  • UABSON faculty gave seven podium presentations and one poster presentation, reaching the thousands of nurse practitioner faculty present at the conference.

Upon receiving the Rising Star Award, Bordelon recognized his UAB colleagues and hopes for the future.

Bordelon joined the UAB School of Nursing faculty in 2017 and currently serves as the Interim Assistant Dean for Graduate Clinical Education - DNP.

”I am humbled by this recognition and honored to work with so many great colleagues. My passions for teaching and leadership have served me well at UAB. I look forward to continued efforts for UABSON and beyond,” Bordelon said.

As a member of the NONPF Board, Holland hopes to utilize her leadership skills as she optimizes quality nurse practitioner education and participates in policy formation. She has been an active member of NONPF for 10 years and received the NONPF Rising Star Award in 2016.

“Service on the NONPF Board of Directors provides an important seat at the table to impact nurse practitioner education. I look forward to working with NONPF to enhance the quality and consistency of nurse practitioner programs through competency-based education and to advance the transition of nurse practitioner programs to the Doctor of Nursing Practice degree,” Holland said.

These awards, invitations and presentations highlight faculty’s dedication to advancing nurse practitioner education and remaining up-to-date on the latest information and research.

Upcoming Events