Bowers named NPAA Outstanding Faculty

Photo of Deb Bowers

By Laura Gasque

University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing Assistant Professor Deborah Bowers, DNP, CRNP, FNP-C (BSN 1985, MSN 2013, DNP 2017), is the recipient of the Nurse Practitioner Alliance of Alabama’s 2023 Outstanding Faculty Award. The award recognizes a NP faculty member who is committed to the excellence of educating nurse practitioner students, demonstrates excellence in academic performance and leadership within the university.

“It is an honor to be selected for this award,” Bowers said. “I have the privilege of serving as a mentor for talented, inspiring young nurse-leaders who will improve the health of individuals and communities at home and abroad. It is a joy and a pleasure to see them grow and flourish in their professional roles.”

Bowers has practiced nursing in the United States, Venezuela, China, South Africa, South Sudan and Uganda among communities where access to health care is limited. Her experience includes training nursing students, nurses, physicians and other members of the health care team to serve effectively through mobile medical clinics.

In 2016, as a Doctor of Nursing Practice student, Bowers was named the School’s first Alabama Schweitzer Fellow.

"Through my work with the Changed Lives Mobile Clinic in central Alabama, I witness, on a weekly basis, the positive influence that nurses have in the community to promote health and well-being,” Bowers said. “Nurse practitioner students complete rotations at the clinic alongside prelicensure nursing students. The combined efforts of these young leaders result in a significant improvement in the physical and mental health of our patients."

Several other UABSON faculty members and alumni also were elected to the NPAA executive board. UAB Medicine Assistant Director of Advanced Practice Providers and Adjunct Instructor Eileen Meyer, DNP, CRNP, ACNP-BC (MSN 1997, DNP 2017), is President, Assistant Professor Lisa Pair, DNP, CRNP, WHNP-BC (MSN 1992, DNP 2018), is Vice President for Policy, and Instructor Hiboombe Haamankuli, DNP, CRNP, ACNP-BC (MSN 2010), will serve as Member at Large.

Alumnus Adam Kinsaul, ACNP-BC, RNFA (MSN 2010, DNP 2022), is President-Elect, and alumna Laura Debiasi, DNP, MPH, FNP-C (BSN 2009, MSN 2012, DNP 2014), will serve as Treasurer.

Upcoming Events