22 recognized at UAB honors convocation

Celebrating prestigious awards, honors and scholarships

By Laura Lesley

UAB Honors Convocation16 RTOutstanding PhD Student Leigh Bray, Dean's Award Recipient - Doctoral Jacqueline Vo, Dean's Award Recipient - Undergraduate Kirsten Martinez and Outstanding Undergraduate Student in BSN/Nursing Sheau LamTwenty-Two University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB) School of Nursing students were recognized at the University’s annual Honors Convocation, held April 9 at the Alys Robinson Stephens Performing Arts Center’s Jemison Theater.

The annual convocation celebrates the accomplishments of students who have won prestigious national honors, including scholarships, fellowships, and university or student service awards.

UAB School of Nursing students recognized are:

Kirsten Martinez, School of Nursing Dean’s Award (Undergraduate)

Jacqueline B. Vo, School of Nursing Dean’s Award (Doctoral)

Leigh A. Bray, Outstanding Doctor of Philosophy

Elizabeth K. Petitt, Outstanding Doctor of Nursing Practice

Aubrey M. Sargeant, Outstanding MSN Student Woman’s Health Nurse Practitioner

Adam A. Barkeloo, Outstanding MSN Student Psychiatric Mental Health Primary Care Nurse Practitioner

Misty A. Barrett, Outstanding MSN Student Pediatric Primary Care Nurse Practitioner

Kristine N. Slimak, Outstanding MSN Student Dual Pediatric Acute and Primary Care Nurse Practitioner

Christopher R. Smith, Outstanding MSN Student Nurse Educator

Emily A. Markwell, Outstanding MSN Student Neonatal Nurse Practitioner

Christopher R. Wright, Outstanding MSN Student Nursing and Health Systems Administration

Lauren M. Wheeler, Outstanding MSN Student Nursing Informatics

Savannah J. Kessler, Outstanding MSN Student Nurse Anesthesia

Brandi L. Foshee, Outstanding MSN Student Family Primary Care Nurse Practitioner

UAB Honors Convocation03Dean's Award - Doctoral recipient Jacqueline Vo receives her award from UAB President Ray Watts while School of Nursing Senior Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Dr. Linda Moneyham looks on.Shantale L. Wheeler, Outstanding MSN Student Clinical Nurse Leader

Kelly Davidson, Outstanding MSN Student Adult Primary Care Nurse Practitioner with Woman’s Health

Kwai Mung Chin, Outstanding MSN Student Adult Primary Care Nurse Practitioner with Oncology

Arusha P. Heyat, Outstanding MSN Student Adult Primary Care Nurse Practitioner with Gerontology

Sara A. Coleman, Outstanding MSN Student Adult Acute Care/First Assist Nurse Practitioner

Emily S. Murphy, Outstanding MSN Student Adult Acute Care Nurse Practitioner

Sheau F. Lam, Outstanding Undergraduate Student in BSN/Nursing

Corey B. Lofton, Outstanding Undergraduate Student RN-BSN/Nursing

Last modified on January 13, 2020

Upcoming Events