AACN selects three alumni for leadership program

Year-long fellowship to prepare participants as academic leaders

Photo: AACN selects three alumni for leadership programBy Laura Lesley

Three alumni of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing have been selected to participate in the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) 2018 Leadership for Academic Nursing Program (LANP), designed for those who have experience in academic administration and aspire to more senior administrative or executive positions within the nursing academic unit.

Alumni selected include Elizabeth Gulledge, PhD, RN, CNE, NEA-BC, Caralise Hunt, PhD, RN, and Larry Slater, PhD, CNE, RN-BC. They are among 49 nursing faculty from across the nation selected to participate in the 2018 LANP, which convened July 29-Aug. 2 in Chaska, Minnesota.

The program includes a year-long fellowship to provide participants with a focused assessment experience, a range of content and exercises related to successful executive leadership and the opportunity to establish a peer network that fosters long-term partnerships and collegial support.

Twenty-five states and an array of institution types are represented among 2018 LANP participants, including small liberal arts programs, public and private schools and large academic health centers.

Gulledge, who earned her Doctor of Philosophy in Nursing (PhD) from the UAB School of Nursing in 2010, serves as an associate dean and department head of nursing at the School of Health Professions and Wellness at Jacksonville State University.

Hunt is an associate professor and associate dean for academic affairs at Auburn University’s School of Nursing. She earned her PhD from the UAB School of Nursing in 2011.

Slater, a two-time graduate of the UAB School of Nursing, is a clinical associate professor and director of the undergraduate program at the New York University Rory Meyers College of Nursing. He earned his Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) and PhD from the UAB School of Nursing in 2008 and 2011, respectively, and is a former president of UAB’s Nu Chapter of Sigma.

Read 4126 times Last modified on March 22, 2019

Upcoming Events