Alumni recognized for excellence

UAB Medicine, Children’s of Alabama include 20 UABSON graduates in annual nursing excellence awards

Photo: University of Alabama at Birmingham HospitalTwenty graduates of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing are UAB Medicine Nursing Excellence Award winners and Children’s of Alabama Nursing Excellence Award winners for 2019. UAB Medicine and Children's of Alabama present the awards annually to nursing staff who are selected based on their nursing knowledge, technical skills, clinical leadership and dedication to improving patient care.

This year’s awards were presented during National Nurses Week, which was held May 6-12 ending with Florence Nightingale’s birthday, the founder of modern nursing.

“We are thrilled to have so many alumni working here in Birmingham to improve the health of our own community,” said Doreen Harper, Ph.D., UAB School of Nursing Dean and Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair. “It is always a pleasure to see our graduates being honored for their excellence in practice and leadership.”

Several of the award winners are two-time and three-time graduates of the UAB School of Nursing. The UAB School of Nursing alumni honored by UAB Medicine and Children’s of Alabama are:

2019 UAB Medicine Nursing Excellence Award Recipients

Excellence in Nursing Award
Elizabeth Baker – BSN 2016
Paige Batson – BSN 2015
Stephanie Cannon – BSN 1995, MSN 2016
Shelley Cardwell – BSN 2016
Holly Foster – BSN 2012
Hannah Leopard-Smith – BSN 2016
Megan Moore – BSN 2015, MSN 2019
Angel Pendleton – MSN 2019
Heather Watson – MSN 2019
Advanced Practice Nursing Excellence Award
Carolyn Curry – BSN 1985, MSN 2013
Amanda Griffin – MSN 2015
Chaeli Lawson – MSN 2014
Caring Partner Excellence Award
Jessica Ellison – BSN 2011
ANM/Team Lead Excellence Award
Toni Beam – MSN 2019
Monica McCugh – BSN 2016
Brittany Stallworth – MSN 2018
Excellence in Leadership Award
Amanda Chambers – BSN 2010, MSN 2013
Lori Mehaffey – BSN 2012, MSN 2014, DNP 2018

Children's of Alabama Nursing Excellence Award Recipients

Pediatric Practice Excellence Award
Lindsay Styes – BSN 2009

Advanced Practice Excellence Award
Kara Short – MSN 2014

Read 1697 times Last modified on October 09, 2019

Upcoming Events