Alumni, retiree receive ASNA awards


By Amanda E.H. Pritchard

The Alabama State Nurses Association honored faculty and alumni of the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing at its annual convention.

“Our faculty and alumni continue to learn, deliver, discover, change and lead,” said Dean and Fay B. Ireland Endowed Chair in Nursing Maria Shirey, PhD, MBA, MS, RN, NEA-BC, ANEF, FACHE, FNAP, FAAN. “The School’s vision is to educate innovative leaders who are transforming health care. That’s exactly what these distinguished nurse leaders achieve time and again.”

Faculty honorees

Tedra Smith, DNP, CPNP-PC, CNE (MSN 2004, DNP 2011)

Smith is an Associate Professor and Assistant Dean for Graduate Clinical Education-MSN. She received the Cindajo Overton Outstanding Nurse Educator Award. This award goes to an educator who’s contributed to the improvement of quality health care through the teaching process; including clarifying, refining and expanding the knowledge base of nursing. Smith is a pediatric nurse practitioner with a specialization in primary care.

Cori Johnson, DNP, AGNP-C (BSN 2010, MSN 2014, DNP 2017)

Johnson is an Assistant Professor and a three-time alumna of the UAB School of Nursing. She received the Louise Barksdale Outstanding Nursing Practice Award for the excellence and leadership she displays with her students and in nursing practice.

Summer Langston Powers, DNP, ACNP-BC, AACC (MSN 2006, DNP 2009)

Powers was named Outstanding Non-Member. Her experience in critical care and cardiovascular medicine allows her to work in her current practice as an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner while she also excels in her classroom role as a UABSON Assistant Professor.

Alumna awarded

Lindsey Harris, DNP, CRNP, FNP-BC (MSN 2011, DNP 2016)

Harris received the ASNA President’s Award. She served as President of the Alabama State Nurses Association from 2020-2022. Harris was one of six selected for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Health Policy Fellows Program in Washington, D.C. Harris dedicates her nursing career to promoting the profession of nursing during these ever-changing times and improving outcomes for those she serves.

Retiree recipient

Jacqueline Moss, PhD, RN, FAAN

Moss is a retired Professor and Associate Dean for Technology and Innovation who was honored with the Outstanding Retired Nurse Award. Moss’s career spans from adult critical care, nursing education and research to nursing informatics. She’s developed various projects to incorporate new information and communication technologies for use in health care practice and education.

Last modified on September 23, 2022

Upcoming Events