The UAB School of Optometry includes the Department of Optometry and Vision Science. The chair of the department is responsible for faculty assignments and allocation of departmental resources. The dean, associate deans, department chair, clinic chief-of-staff, director of the school’s Vision Science Research Center, and the director of administration and fiscal affairs serve as the executive committee.

  • Executive Committee

    Kelly K. Nichols

    Kelly K. Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, FAAO

    Chris Boutwell

    Chris Boutwell, MAc

    Director, Administration and Fiscal Affairs
    Adam Gordon

    Adam Gordon, OD, MPH

    Director, Cornea and Contact Lens Services
    Timothy Kraft

    Timothy Kraft, PhD

    Interim Associate Dean for Research
    Jason J. Nichols

    Jason J. Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, FAAO

    UAB Assistant Vice President for Industry Research and Development
    Steven J. Pittler

    Steven J. Pittler, PhD

    Director, Vision Science Research Center
    Elizabeth Steele

    Elizabeth Steele, OD, FAAO

    Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs
    Lawrence Sincich

    Lawrence Sincich, PhD

    Interim Director of the Graduate Program
    Kristine Hopkins

    Kristine B. Hopkins, OD, MSPH, FAAO

    Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
  • Administration

    Chris Boutwell, MAc

    Chris Boutwell, MAc

    Director, Administration and Fiscal Affairs
    Katherine Clore

    Katherine Clore, OD

    Director, Continuing Education
    Keshia Elder

    Keshia Elder, OD

    Director, Externship Programs

    Harold "Joey" Jones

    Director, Computing and Data Resources (CADRE)
    Caroline Beesley Pate

    Caroline Beesley Pate, OD, FAAO

    Director, Residency Programs
    Gerald Simon

    Gerald Simon, OD

    Director, Student Affairs
    Sommer Thompson

    Sommer Thompson

    Senior Director, Development