Eddie Groom and Bayan Karassi, first-year students in the M.S. in Health Informatics program, were awarded merit scholarships by the Alabama Chapter of the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (Alabama HIMSS).

Cathleen Erwin, Ph.D., alumna of our PhD in Administration-Health Services program, and Christy Harris Lemak, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Health Services Administration, are named winners of awards from the Health Care Management Division of the Academy of Management.

Amber Lucky, student in the UAB M.S. in Health Administration program (MSHA Class 55), has been named a recipient of the 2020 Albert W. Dent Graduate Student Scholarship. The award is given by the Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) in honor of Dent who was the first African-American Fellow of ACHE.

The Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama System recognized two professors in the School of Health Professions’ Department of Health Services Administration with university-wide appointments: Eta Berner, Ed.D., was named UAB University Professor, Nancy Borkowski, DBA, was named UAB Distinguished Professor.