Explore UAB

Students can apply for several competitive scholarships awarded by the MPA Alumni Society each year. Current scholarships include: 

  • Alabama Power Nonprofit Scholars Program: The Alabama Power Foundation Scholarship is intended to support further training and upskilling in the nonprofit sector. Towards that end, the scholarship provides financial support for nonprofit professionals who seek to complete the Graduate Certificate in Nonprofit Management at UAB.
    • Download Application (PDF)
    • Application Deadlines:
      • Fall: August 1
      • Spring: December 1
      • Summer: April 1
    • Questions: Email Dr. Blanton at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Joshua I. Harvey and Friends Diversity Scholarship: The Joshua I. Harvey and Friends Diversity Scholarship provides support to students for whom affordability may be an obstacle, and who might otherwise be unable to attend the University. Preference is given to minority students in one of the following groups: African American/Black, Hispanic/Latino, Asian American, or Native American.
  • MPA Alumni Scholarship: A tuition scholarship to a deserving student from the MPA Program.
  • MPA Study Away (Take a Leap) Scholarship: This scholarship is donated by a UAB MPA Alumni who believes it is important to support UAB MPA students through service-learning opportunities in Washington, D.C. This scholarship will be awarded to a student who is working a summer internship in D.C. 
  • MPA Alumni Nonprofit Management Scholarship: This scholarship will be used to assist deserving students who are enrolled in the Master of Public Administration Program in the College of Arts and Sciences at UAB with a career focus on nonprofit management.

Students will receive communication—typically in spring semesters—about these scholarships and how to apply for them.

Recent Scholarship Winners

Year Alumni Take a Leap Nonprofit Management Harvey & Friends
2023 April Alvarez
Libby Hill
Fatima Jehangir
Faiza Mawani E’Shandae Thomas TBD
2022 Shaniqua Hunter Not awarded April Alvarez E'Shandae Thomas
2021 Nusrat Fatima
Mhamuda Khatun
Michael Wise
Caitlin Cruz Endia Harris April Alvarez
Kameryn Thigpen
2020 Sam Sider KaShunti Farmer Kaily Ford-Davis Latrice Green
Endia Harris


In the spring, the MPA program also presents several awards to students graduating during that calendar year. Students are nominated by MPA faculty and staff. These awards include: 

  • The Outstanding Student Award is given to a student from the MPA program for academic excellence and service accomplishment. 
  • The Outstanding Student Service Award is given out each year to a student from the MPA program who shows outstanding leadership and service to the MPA program and the Graduate School Senate.
  • The Outstanding Student Practitioner award is given each year to a full-time practitioner-student who excels in academic achievement in the MPA program and shows leadership in the practitioner world.  Their dedication to service and education is a role model for our next generation of students.

Recent Award Winners

Year Outstanding Student Student Service Student Practitioner
2023 Banks Stamp* Jamie Holdsambeck Jane Akins
2022 Machelle Campbell* Endia Harris Latrice Green
2021 Erica Techo Kaia Greene Ollie Davison
2020 Trey Gordon* Amy O’Dell Briana Chisham Bryant
2019 Kym Payne Aysha Rasool Jesslan Wilson 

*Indicates recipient of UAB Graduate School’s Barker Award.