The inaugural recipients of the Ray L. Watts Endowed Engineering Scholarship have been awarded to three outstanding undergraduate students in the Department of Biomedical Engineering, in the amount of $1,000 each.

The winners are:

  • Chloe T. Demellier, Freshman in the Honors College,
  • Piper C. Hempfling, Sophomore in the Honors College, and
  • Macy A. McCuiston, Senior in the Honors College with a minor in Neuroengineering.

The selection criteria are students who:

  • are currently enrolled in a degree-granting program in BME;
  • have earned at least a 3.0 grade point average;
  • find affordability to be an obstacle, and
  • might otherwise be unable to attend the University.

The scholarship is an annual award applied toward the recipients’ tuition and fees. Congratulations to the winners!

More News

2020: The year in photos

2020: The year in photos

Each year, UAB’s official photographers capture tens of thousands of images as they document the incredible variety of events and personalities that make up our community. Here are some of our favorite photos of some of the most dramatic months in UAB history.

Read More