Explore UAB

By Christina Crowe
The Department of Biomedical Engineering is honored to announce the promotion of one of our esteemed faculty colleagues, effective October 1, 2023. Prasanna Krishnamurthy, Ph.D., is promoted to the position of professor with tenure. He is the graduate program director for the department.

Krishnamurthy earned his BVSc (DVM) degree with honors from Bangalore Veterinary College and completed his Ph.D. in Veterinary Pathology from the Indian Veterinary Research Institute, India. He held faculty appointments at the Feinberg Cardiovascular Research Institute, School of Medicine at Northwestern University, Chicago, and Houston Methodist Research Institute, Texas. 

Krishnamurthy directs a research program focusing on understanding mechanisms of cardiovascular diseases and developing novel therapeutic strategies to promote cardiac regeneration and repair. His lab is supported through funds from the National Institutes of Health, US Department of Defense and American Heart Association, and focuses on several broad research areas, including:

  • Basic mechanism of cardiac remodeling and structural alterations during stress or injury;
  • Mental health and its influence on heart disease;
  • Exosome role in cardiac disease and therapy;
  • Diabetes and its risk for cardiovascular disease; and
  • Cardiovascular injury during sepsis/endotoxemia.

Krishnamurthy’s laboratory’s long-term research goal is to identify new molecular targets that could aid in development of future drugs and therapies for prevention and treatment of cardiovascular diseases. His laboratory’s education mission is to empower students and trainees to engage in rigorous academic inquiry and cutting-edge research that generates significant positive impacts on society. Krishnamurthy has successfully mentored numerous trainees, including- postdoctoral fellows, undergraduate and graduate students, junior faculty and volunteers, who went on to pursue careers in academia and industry.

His list of service activities and awards from various organizations include: Fellow of American Heart Association (FAHA); Outstanding Early Career Investigator Award, AHA; HMRI President’s Award for Transformational Excellence, and he is a professional member in American Heart Association (AHA); European Society of Cardiology; International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research; Inflammation Research Association; Society for Immunology and Immunopathology (SIIP); Indian Association of Veterinary Pathologists (IAVP).