Explore UAB


The SAFER Barrier has been saving lives for more than a decade at NASCAR and IndyCar circuits across the United States, as well as in the European circuit. On April 11, SAE International honored the team that created the Steel Foam Energy Reduction Barriers with the 2017 SAE John Melvin Motorsports Safety Award, which includes Dean Sicking, Ph.D.

Sicking, a leading figure in highway safety research for more than 30 years, has led a research team at the UAB School of Engineering since 2012. 

“It is an honor to receive this national award recognizing safety innovations in racing,” said Sicking, professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering. “Dr. Melvin is a longtime mentor of mine starting when I was a graduate student. His leadership and expertise in occupant kinematics and injury causation influenced the next 30 years of careers.”