Explore UAB

More than 1,200 UAB employees, including 13 faculty and staff members from the School of Engineering, were honored Tuesday afternoon at the UAB annual service award reception at the Hill Student Center.

Among those being honored was Daniel Long with more than 30 years at UAB.

He was joined by 25-year honorees Vladimir Fast from the Department of Biomedical Engineering and Daniel Connor and Lance Weise from the Engineering Innovation and Technology Development (EITD) research group.

Other honorees with at least 20 years of service included, Thomas Foley, Roy Koomullil, Ph.D., Hui Anna Li, Grant Martin, Gregory Myers, Robert Nichols, Ph.D., Jonathan Ray, Angela Schmeckebier, and Virginia Sisiopiku.

The reception on Tuesday honored only those employees with 20 or more years (in five-year increments) of service. A separate service awards ceremony within the School of Engineering will be held later this year to recognize the service of employees who recently achieved five, 10 and 15 years of service.

Click here for a list of all of Tuesday's honorees.