Explore UAB

Division of Preventive Medicine

About us

About Us

The Deep South Resource Center for Minority Aging Research (RCMAR) is a collaborative partnership of four unique, Southern institutions with complementary strengths: Morehouse School of Medicine, Tuskegee University, University of Alabama, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

By unifying our researchers, our top aims are to mentor sustained research careers; to enhance the diversity of the workforce conducting research on the health of older persons; and to advance scientific knowledge to reduce health disparities. In doing so, we focus on health problems that are particularly prevalent among older African Americans in both rural and urban settings.RCMAR

Over 14 years of funding from the National Institute on Aging (NIA), we have provided career development support for at least 48 Scientists through Pilot Grant Awards, 6 Scientists through Diversity Supplements, and 60 Scientists through our multi-disciplinary Health Equity Research Education Program (HEREP). The RCMAR will continue to advance the science of health disparities and aging through collaborative research involving all core investigators and scientists conducting new research and secondary data analyses supported by core funds, pilot grants and other external grants. 

Our Aims

  1. Provide high-quality research training and individualized career development support for faculty.

  2. Identify, engage and mentor a diverse faculty committed to academic careers in health disparities and aging research.

  3. Support innovative, high impact pilot projects Provide expertise and resources for working collaboratively with communities and for the recruitment and retention of older Black/African Americans in research.

  4. Provide expertise and resources for culturally sensitive measurement and analysis.

  5. Disseminate research results to scientific, professional and lay audiences.

Four Cores

Advisory Committee

  • Community based Advisory Group

  • Professional Advisory Group

  • Scientist Advisory Group

Meet Our Committees

  • Steering Committee

    Raegan W. Durant, MD, MPH, Director
    Mona N. Fouad, MD, MPH, Co-Director
    Kathryn L. Burgio, PhD, (Director Emeritus) REC Investigator
    Rebecca Allen, PhD, REC Co-Director
    Karlene Ball, PhD, REC Director
    Peter Baltrus, PhD, AnC Investigator
    Olivio Clay, PhD, AnC Director
    Vincent Craig Bond, PhD, MSM Director
    Michael Crowe, PhD, REC Investigator
    Vivian Carter, PhD, TU Director, CLRC Investigator
    Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH, UA Director/CLRC Director
    Rhonda Holliday, CLRC Investigator
    Virginia Howard, PhD, AnC, Co-Director
    JoAnn Oliver, PhD, RN, CLRC Investigator
    Sharlene Newman, PhD, CLRC Investigator
    Alexander Quarshie, MD, MS, REC Investigator
    Stephen Sodeke, PhD, AnC Investigator
    Robert Weech-Maldonado, PhD, AnC Investigator

    The RCMAR Steering Committee, Cores, Executive Committee, and Scientists are supported by Janet L. McCoy, MPA, Meeting Coordinator, Angela Rothrock, PhD, Operations Manager, and Ann S. Smith, MPH, REC Training Manager.

  • Community Advisory Group

    Delois Guy, DSN
    Michael D. Fedrick, BA
    Ladisa Onyiliogwu, CPM
    Jamie T. Paulk, Ed.S.
    Liz Prosch, MSHA, BSN
    John C. Smith, MSW, CIM

  • Professional Advisory Group

    Laurence Bradley, PhD
    Virginia G. Bradley, PhD
    Michelle Martin, PhD
    Cynthia Owsley, PhD
    Brian Rivers, PhD, MPH
    Erik Roberson, PhD
    Harry S. Strothers III, MD
    Tim Turner, PhD

  • Scholar Scientist Advisory Group

    Larrell Wilkinson (Chair)
    Cassandra Ford, PhD, MSN, MBA, RN
    Stephanie Garrett, MD
    Lonnie Hannon, PhD
    Gina McCaskill, PhD, MSW, MPA
    Nicole Ruggiano, PhD, MSW

  • Raegan W. Durant, MD, MPH: Director, Deep South Resource Center for Minority Aging Research (RCMAR)

  • Karlene Ball, PhD: Research Education Core (REC) Director, Deep South RCMAR

  • Olivio Clay, PhD: Analysis (AnC) Director, Deep South RCMAR

  • Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH: UA Site PI, Community Liaison & Recruitment (CLRC) Core Director, Deep South RCMAR

  • Ann S. Smith, MPH: Research Education Core (REC) Training Manager, Deep South RCMAR