Dr. Michael JohnsonDepartment of Orthopaedic Surgery Associate Professor and Director of the residency program Michael Johnson, M.D., has been elected president of the Alabama Orthopaedic Society (AOS) for the 2022-2023 term.

The AOS, which has around 300 members, is a medical education association located in Montgomery, Alabama, comprised of orthopaedic surgeons who are licensed to practice medicine throughout Alabama and the U.S.

As president of the AOS, Johnson will preside as all meetings of the society and its board of directors, calling meetings for the board. Johnson will fill any vacancies that might occur within the board or other areas of the society, and he is also charged with making committee appointments.

Overall, the president oversees the operation of the AOS and ensures that the educational society continues to move toward its vision as an organization. Johnson’s experience as program director for the orthopaedic surgery residency program at UAB supports him in this role.

“I am delighted to represent the UAB Department of Orthoapedic Surgery on this national stage,” said Johnson. “It’s truly an honor to have been elected by my colleagues to lead this incredible organization, and I look forward to all that we will accomplish during my term.”

The UAB Department of Surgery has long supported the mission of the Alabama Orthopaedic Society. Other UAB faculty on the board of directors as members at large includes Assistant Professor Erin Ransom, M.D., Associate Professor Clay Spitler, M.D., and PGY 5 Resident Jacob Hawkins, M.D.

The AOS will host its annual meeting from May 19-21 in Point Clear, AL. Click here for details about a UAB resident reunion.