Explore UAB

The Department of Pathology's Craig Maynard, Ph.D.Assistant Professor, Molecular & Cellular Pathology, has just been named one of UAB's 2020 Pittman Scholars for his research accomplishments. Dr. Maynard's current lab research is primarily focused on three areas. These include the role of T cell co-stimulation in promoting regulatory T cell (Treg cell) stability during chronic intestinal inflammation, the role of anti-commensal antibodies in the establishment and maintenance of host-microbiota mutualism, and lastly, the potential impact of early life stress (ELS) on susceptibility to, and chronicity of, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD). Maynard's overall research seeks to better understand the etiology of IBD and utitlize this knowledge for the development of novel therapeutic options. 


Along with Dr. Maynard, five other UAB School of Medicine faculty members have been named the 2020 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars. This program recognizes the impact of junior faculty and supports the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.

The Pittman Scholars, named for the late James A. Pittman, M.D., longtime dean of the School of Medicine from 1973 to 1992, are nominated by their department chairs based on their research achievements and their potential for continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences. Pittman is considered a principal architect of the School for his ability to recruit top scientists and physicians to UAB.


Pittman Scholars are selected each academic year. The selected class of scholars each receive $12,500 per year for five years to support the faculty member’s research-related activities or scholarly enrichment.

The 2020 Pittman Scholars are (from left to right, top to bottom in the photo):
Akila Subramaniam, M.D. Obstetrics/Gynecology
Ashley Harms, Ph.D. Department of Neurology 
Sushant Bhatnagar, Ph.D. Department of Medicine

Craig Maynard, Ph.D. Department of Pathology
Summer Thyme, Ph.D. Department of Neurobiology
Ceren Yarar-Fisher, Ph.D. Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation