Explore UAB

Students from the UAB School of Medicine honored their outstanding mentors, professors, courses and course directors at the Argus Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, Oct. 27 during a live ceremony on Zoom. Among this year's winners were four Department of Pathology faculty members, and one former faculty member.

argus awards

The Argus Awards, created in 1996, allow medical students to nominate faculty members by course evaluations and vote to select award winners for each category.

Department winners of the 2020 Argus Awards are:

Pre-Clinical Awards

Best Introductory Module
Fundamentals of Medicine
Module Director(s): Laura Fraser, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology; Block Leaders: Martin Young Ph.D., Medicine; Teresa Wilborn, PharmD, Ph.D., Pharmacology & Toxicology; Peter Anderson, DVM, Ph.D., Professor, Molecular & Cellular Pathology; Rachel Lee, M.D., Medicine; Mukesh Patel, M.D., Medicine

Best MS1 Organ Module
Module Director(s): Silvio Litovsky, M.D., Professor, Anatomic Pathology; Harish Doppalapudi, M.D., Medicine 

Best MS2 Organ Module
Module Director(s): Robin Lester, Ph.D., Neurobiology; Victor Sung, M.D., Neurology; Michael Lyerly, M.D., Neurology; Tobias Martinez, M.D., Psychiatry; Kenneth Fallon, M.D., Associate Professor, Anatomic Pathology; Teresa Wilborn, PharmD, Ph.D., Pharmacology & Toxicology; William Brooks, Ph.D., Cell, Developmental & Integrative Biology

Best Educator: Hematology/Oncology
Frida Rosenblum, M.D., Assistant Professor, Anatomic Pathology

Best Educator: Reproductive Systems
Jennifer Gordetsky, M.D., (formerly UAB Pathology; now Associate Professor, Vanderbilt University) 

Read the full article and list of of winners here.