Explore UAB

17747scr f30b710e43e9363by Christina Crowe

The UAB Department of Pathology is proud to announce the appointment of Neda Wick, M.D., as an assistant professor in the Division of Neuropathology, led by division director C. Ryan Miller, M.D., Ph.D., Vishnu B. Reddy Translational Research Endowed Professor, effective July 1. Dr. Wick, with her extensive training and experience in neuropathology, is poised to make significant contributions to the department's research and educational endeavors.

Dr. Wick obtained her Doctor of Medicine degree with a Distinction in Medical Education from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas. Prior to that, she completed her Bachelor of Science in Neurobiology, Physiology, and Behavior, with a minor in Comparative Literature, at the University of California, Davis. She pursued her Residency in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology at the UT Southwestern Medical Center, where she also served as the Chair of the UT Southwestern Chief Resident Council and Chief Resident in the Department of Pathology.

Throughout her career, Dr. Wick has garnered recognition for her exceptional achievements and dedication to her field. She has been nominated for the Leaders in Clinical Excellence – Mentorship Award at UT Southwestern Medical Center and received the annual prestigious Dr. Bruce D. Fallis Resident Teaching Award on three occasions. Dr. Wick's commitment to service has also been acknowledged through the Service Award from the Department of Pathology at UT Southwestern.

Dr. Wick's passion for education is reflected in her extensive involvement in teaching and course development. She has served as the Course Director for the Medical Education Elective and the Track Director for the Residency Essentials: Pathology Track at UT Southwestern. Dr. Wick has also contributed to curriculum development, designed enrichment electives, and played a pivotal role in the development of the four-year longitudinal Medical Education Track and Distinction. In addition, she served a two-year term as the Resident Member on the Pathology Review Committee of the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) and representative on the American Board of Pathology Resident and Fellow Advisory Committee.

She is an active member of several professional societies, including the American Academy of Neuropathogists, College of American Pathologists, and Texas Society of Pathologists. Her involvement in these organizations reflects her commitment to staying at the forefront of advancements in her field and collaborating with fellow professionals.

The Department is thrilled to welcome Dr. Neda Wick as a valuable addition to our faculty. Bottom of Form