Explore UAB

Gene Siegal, M.D., Ph.D., UAB Distinguished Professor, Robert W. Mowry Endowed Professor and Executive Vice Chair, Department of Pathology, has been elected vice president of the International Society of Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology. He will automatically ascend to the presidency of the organization in two years.

In April 2021, Siegal was appointed Distinguished Professor by the University of Alabama Board of Trustees, the first such honor for a pathologist at UAB.

“I am highly moved that my colleagues around the world have honored me in this way with this opportunity to further serve them at this time in my life," Siegal said.

The ISBSTP is a nonprofit organization founded in 2001 in order to: 

  • Offer resources to bone and soft tissue professionals.
  • Encourage collaboration among members of the medical community related to soft tissue and bone.
  • Inform society members contact information of other society members, including those who accept consultations.
  • Offer information on conferences--both past and future.

During his 30+ year tenure at UAB, Siegal has set a high standard through his professional, academic, research, and service contributions. In his current role as Executive Vice Chair, he delivers tremendous administrative support and experience to the operations of both the department and the institution.

gene p siegal 300x325

“Dr. Siegal is a natural fit to assume this role, having established himself over the course of his career as an internationally renowned expert in the fields of bone and soft tissue pathology,” says George Netto, M.D., Robert and Ruth Anderson Endowed Chair, UAB Department of Pathology. “We are very proud to see him recognized by this society and look forward to seeing him in a leading role with the organization."