Explore UAB

by Christina Crowe

Our department gathered some of its longest-serving, most highly honored faculty alongside some of our newer faculty members on October 20 to recognize awards and distinctions from the previous two years. At an event previously intended to be annual, but postponed by COVID, several faculty, trainees and staff came together at the UAB National Alumni House to celebrate with a dinner reception.

The following individuals were recognized:

347EC070 AAF6 4E17 8515 38369C0B7470 A3DBE022 2A76 4421 8D98 20A7A80ADAB4 1 201 a D3B8DEEA CA3C 4566 A7C0 9B66F1396F5E



Erin Ahn, Ph.D. Featured Discovery, January 2022
Vishnu Reddy, M.D., UAB President’s Excellence Award
Casey Weaver, M.D., National Academy of Sciences
Michael Williams, M.D., M.Sc. Fellow, The Pathologist Power List
Tom Winokur, M.D. New Division Director, Women’s Health


Elizabeth Brown, Ph.D., M.P.H., Endowed Professor of Cancer Pathobiology
Shu Chen, Ph.D., Ona Faye-Petersen Endowed Professor of Pathology
Yabing Chen, Ph.D., Jay MacDonald Endowed Professorship elevated to Chair
Han-Fei Ding, Ph.D., Gene P. Siegal Endowed Professor of Pathology
C. Ryan Miller, M.D., Ph.D., Vishnu Reddy Translational Research Endowed Professor

Service Awards

Peter Anderson, D.V.M., Ph.D.—35 years
Shannon Bailey, Ph.D.—20 years
William Benjamin, Ph.D. (retired)—35 years
Robin Hatton, Ph.D.—20 years 

Promotion to Associate Professor

Sixto Leal, M.D., Ph.D.
Goo Lee, M.D., Ph.D.
Craig Maynard, Ph.D.
Brandi McCleskey, M.D.

F685BAE6 711C 4EDF A82B D94B3B140E09 A3DBE022 2A76 4421 8D98 20A7A80ADAB4 1 201 a


Promotion and Tenure

Sameer Al Diffalha, M.D.
Liyun Cao, Ph.D.
Rajasekaran Namakkal-Soorappan, Ph.D.
Frida Rosenblum, M.D.


Ona Faye-Petersen, M.D.—Aug. 2021
Rob Hackney, M.D.—June 2021
Lea Novak, M.D.—Aug. 2021

Featured Discovery

Craig Maynard, Ph.D.

Argus Awards

Sameer Al Diffalha, M.D.
Ken Fallon, M.D.
Diana Morlote, M.D.

Dean’s Excellence Awards

Peter Anderson, D.V.M., Ph.D.
Sixto Leal, M.D., Ph.D.
Brandi McCleskey, M.D.
Frida Rosenblum, M.D.


Shuko Harada, M.D. – named Vice Chair, Diversity, Equity & Inclusion
Eason Hildreth, D.V.M., Ph.D.—2021 Pittman Scholar
Marisa Marques, M.D.—2021 SOM ODI Professional Excellence Award
Gene Siegal, M.D., Ph.D.—2021 Distinguished Professor, UAB

UAB Pathology Robert and Ruth Anderson Endowed Chair George Netto, M.D., gave remarks recognizing each individual for their ongoing support and dedication to the department. Additionally, he presented Kuruvilla George, M.B.A., Executive Administrator for the department with an award for leadership and service.

 0B1C28A6 83D6 46AF AC2C A0089EF4D36D 0F62CBF6 4A9B 4FE6 B172 7285F64FE5E7 8B39681A 0B88 4FCA 93EE E69E434F475B