Explore UAB

The UAB Department of Pathology was proud to pull together faculty, trainees, students and staff from across campus to celebrate the variety of research endeavors ongoing in the department in its 2022 Research Retreat.

The event took place Friday, September 23, at the Hill University Center. A total of 148 faculty, staff, and trainees, as well as some undergraduate and medical students, registered and took part in this year's event. 

The daylong event featured a packed agenda that included a teambuilding event for department leadership, facilitated by the Office of Leadership Development. This was followed by a morning of selected oral presentations, moderated by Eason Hildreth, DVM, MS, PhD, Assistant Professor.

Lunch included a chance to meet our research administration team and kicked off a "Data Blitz" series of five-minute presentations, moderated by C. Ryan Miller, M.D., Ph.D., Division Director, Neuropathology, with 10 in total.

The afternoon session, moderated by Brandi McCleskey, M.D., Associate Professor, Forensic Pathology, included three selecated oral presentations by trainees, followed by a poster session moderated and judged by Erin Ahn, Ph.D., Associate Professor, MCP. 

“It was great to see all of the research being accomplished within our department, and especially exciting that the number of posters presented increased from 50 to 70 since our last retreat in 2019," says Ralph Sanderson, Ph.D., Division Director Molecular and Cellular Pathology.

Department Chair George Netto, M.D., closed out the day by describing translational research opportunities in pathology, before Upender Manne, M.D., professor, Anatomic Pathology, introduced keynote speaker Casey Weaver, M.D., Wyatt and Susan Haskell Endowed Chair for Medical Excellence. Weaver's talk, "Soaring with the Eagles" described his path to his current success as a world-renowned immunologist and recent elected member of the National Academy of Sciences.

The day closed out with awards presented to speakers and poster presenters including:

Oral Presentation awards: 

- Alex Choi (predoctoral category)

- Brooke Bartow (postdoctoral/clinical fellow category)

Data Blitz award:

- Samuel Chang

Poster awards:

- Courtney Swain, Sayan Bakshi (predoctoral)

-Anamika Gupta, Krystle Ong (postdoctoral/clinical fellow category)

-Aniket Pant (Staff category)

Congratulations to everyone on their participation and awards, and for an outstanding event highlighting our department's robust research efforts.