Officers were sworn in at the annual Alumni Association Open Business Meeting, which took place at the Alabama Optometric Association’s fall conference.

Incoming President Caleb Gardner said that this year the officers are looking forward to returning the Alumni Association to the purpose listed in the bylaws, in which they will support the UAB School of Optometry in recruiting, financially and by continuing to foster a fraternal spirit among alumni. 

Officers inducted include:

  • President: Caleb Gardner, O. D., ’08 (Greenville, AL)
  • President-elect: Bill Tillman, O. D., ’86 (Andalusia, AL)
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Candice Turner, O. D., ‘ 03 (Birmingham, AL)
  • Immediate Past President: Zach Steele, O.D., ’03 (Birmingham, AL)

Board members at Large:

Expiring 2019

  • Rob Pate, O.D., ’07 (Auburn, AL)
  • Candice Turner, O.D.,’03 (Birmingham, AL)
  • David Britton, O.D., ’09 (Russellville, AL)

Expiring 2020

  • Sharon Day, O.D.,’87 (Birmingham, AL)
  • Susan Persall, O.D., ’01 (Hartselle, AL)
  • Jamie Hill, O.D., ’09 (Charleston, SC)

New members expiring in 2021

  • Gussie Branch, O.D., ’16 (Oneonta, AL)
  • Brooke Kaplan, O.D., ’12 (Birmingham, AL)
  • Joel Jenkins, O. D., ’83 (Athens, GA)