Explore UAB

by Nathan Anderson

The Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Award recognizes exemplary leadership and service. During the 2024 Doctoral Convocation and Hooding Ceremony, the award was presented to Adam Gordon, OD, MPH, FAAO, professor and chair for the Department of Optometry and Vision Science. 

“It was certainly an honor to be recognized by Dean Nichols at the 2024 Commencement Ceremony,” Gordon said. “Receiving this award reinforces the decision I made to join the UAB School of Optometry in December 1983.”

Since becoming a UABSO faculty member, Gordon has become beloved by many students over his 40-year career as an educator at the UAB School of Optometry.  

Selected by Dean Kelly Nichols to receive this honor, he is an alumnus who made history as the first student to graduate with a combined OD/MPH degree. He is also the School’s first CooperVision Endowed Scholar.  

As the director of the Cornea and Contact Lens Service, the ALOA Educator of the Year Award winner is an exemplary educator of his patients, students and residents. His work ethic and vision have been a remarkable asset to the students and School.  

“Thank you, Dr. Gordon, for helping provide an education that has transformed 40 graduating classes of our students into confident, eager and highly skilled doctors,” said Dean Kelly Nichols. "Your contributions and the lessons you have offered them will last their entire lives.”