Explore UAB

Five students at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Optometry were recognized at the 42nd annual UAB Honors Convocation, which was held March 30 at the Alys Stephens Performing Arts Center.

The following students were presented awards:


William C. Ezell Fellowship Program

Anna Ablamowicz

Cameron Postnikoff

Since 1949, the American Optometric Foundation has offered Ezell Fellowships to encourage talented persons to pursue full-time careers in optometric research and education in a school or college of optometry. These fellowships provide support to graduate students enrolled in a full-time program of study and training in vision-related research that leads to a master’s or doctorate degree.

Learn more about Ablamowicz, Postnikoff and the Ezell Fellowship Program here.


Dean’s Award

Kelly Cleary

Given to an outstanding student in the School of Optometry in recognition of scholastic achievements.

Doctor of Optometry Award

Veronica Ferris-Metzger

Given to an outstanding optometry student who has a strong academic record, has been active in school events and is well-rounded in terms of community service.

Vision Science Graduate Student Award

Katie Bales

Given to an outstanding graduate student in recognition of scholastic and research achievements.