Explore UAB

Anna Ablamowicz andCameron Postnikoff

UAB School of Optometry faculty and PhD trainees, Anna Ablamowicz, OD, and Cameron Postnikoff, MASc, have been named Ezell Fellows by the American Optometric Foundation (AOF).

The AOF recently announced the nine recipients of the prestigious fellowships, named after the organization’s founding president, Dr. William C. Ezell. The program was established to provide talented post-doctoral students who are pursuing an advanced degree in optometric research and education recognition and support. More than 300 Ezell Fellowships have been awarded since the program’s 1949 inception.

William C. Ezell Fellowships are regarded among the highest recognition awarded to vision science graduate students, and are offered by the AOF to encourage talented individuals to pursue full-time careers in optometric research and education. These fellowships support graduate students enrolled in a full-time program of study and training in vision-related research that leads to a Master's or PhD degree.

Dr. Ablamowicz received the Merton C. Flom Ezell Fellowship in Leadership, and is mentored by Jason Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, Assistant Vice President Industry Research, UAB Office of Research and Economic Development. Postnikoff received the AAO Section on Cornea, Contact Lenses and Refractive Technologies Ezell Fellowship and is mentored by Kelly Nichols, OD, MPH, PhD, Dean, UAB School of Optometry.

“I could not be more proud to say that two of the nine Ezell recipients are from the UAB School of Optometry,” said Dean Kelly Nichols. “These awards are recognized with tremendous esteem within academic optometry and we congratulate Dr. Ablamowicz and Mr. Postnikoff on their accomplishments.”

Among the list of former Ezell Fellows are over 20 deans and presidents of optometric schools and colleges, over 100 faculty members and over 100 Fellows of the American Academy of Optometry, including three of its presidents. Current UABSO faculty who are former Ezell Fellows include Drs. Stephanie M. Cox, Jillian F. Meadows, Robert N. Kleinstein, Timothy W. Kraft, Jason J. Nichols, Kelly K. Nichols, and Michael D. Twa.

The 2016-17 Ezell Fellows will be honored at the AOF’s Annual Celebration Luncheon on November 12th, 2016 during the American Academy of Optometry’s Annual Meeting in Anaheim, California.