Explore UAB

Two UAB School of Optometry students were recognized at the 2022 National Optometric Association (NOA) National Convention.

Daniele Ewert, class of 2023, will serve another term as National Optometric Student Association (NOSA) treasurer and was also awarded the NOA Future Contact Lens Leader Scholarship, sponsored by CooperVision. Brittany Martin, class of 2023, received the Dr. Marvin R. Poston Leadership Award, sponsored by Vision Service Plan (VSP).

The NOA is a not-for-profit corporation that is comprised primarily of minority optometrists from throughout the United States. Their mission is to aid new graduates, as well as established minority optometrists, towards the enhancement and updating of optometric knowledge, skills and professional practice, career placement, and the procurement of financial aid.

A branch of the NOA, NOSA is an international service organization comprised of over 1,000 optometry students who are dedicated to increasing access to eyecare for minority and under-served communities.

Ewert said serving in [NOSA] has been a fulfilling aspect of optometry school.

“I chose to be a part of an organization that gives back so much, whether it be to the community or its students,” she said. “They are so dedicated to providing access to eye care for minority and under-served communities. NOSA has played a huge role in my optometry school career so far and I will continue to lean on it for guidance.”

Martin said she is honored to be selected as the recipient of the Dr. Marvin R. Poston Leadership Award which recognizes outstanding optometry students and members of NOSA.

“It is my heart's desire to be an advocate for not only the field of optometry but also African Americans who aspire to be an optometrist,” she said. “I look forward to following in the footsteps of Dr. Poston and practicing in a private practice setting serving underserved individuals in rural areas.  

All award recipients chosen embody the entrepreneurial spirit and commitment to diversity of Poston, a founding member of VSP.