Explore UAB

 This year at the 2019 National Optometric Association (NOA) National Convention, five UAB School of Optometry students and alumni were awarded scholarships, honored and elected to leadership positions for the National Optometric Student Association (NOSA).

The NOA is a not-for-profit corporation that is comprised primarily of minority optometrists from throughout the United States. Their mission is to provide assistance to new graduates, as well as established minority optometrists, towards the enhancement and updating of optometric knowledge, skills and professional practice, career placement, and the procurement of financial aid.

The students and alumni receiving recognition were as follows:

Walter Jackson (rising 3rd year)

  • Fay Howlette Student Volunteer Award presented by NOA Foundation 
  • John L. Howlette and C. Clayton Powell Student Founders Award

Offices: Current NOA/NOSA National Liaison, National NOSA President Elect, local NOSA Vice President (2018-2019)

Dana Shannon (rising 3rd Year)

  • Walmart and Sam’s Club Academic Scholarship 

Office: National NOSA Treasurer-Elect, local NOSA Class Representative

Sydney Madrigal (rising 4th Year)

  • NOA Future Contact Lens Leader Scholarship 

Office: local NOSA President (2018-2019)

Dr. Sterlin Blakely (2019 Graduate)

  • Walmart/Sam’s Club Leadership Scholarship
  • VSP Global Dr. Marvin R. Poston Leadership Award
  • NOA Student of the Year

Office: National NOA President 

Dr. Jessica Grimes Patton (2019 Graduate)

  • NOSA Executive Board Scholarship 
  • Dr. C Clayton Powell Georgia Student Award

The UAB School of Optometry is extremely proud of these students and alumni on their continuous hard work in the classroom and dedication to providing excellent patient care.