Congratulations to the members of the Class of 2016 who were recognized during this year's Graduate Day Awards Presentation.

The UAB School of Optometry held its 43rd Convocation and Doctoral Hooding Ceremony on Friday, May 20, 2016. The School conferred 46 Doctor of Optometry degrees and recognized residents completing the optometry residency program, as well as students who completed the Master of Science and Doctor of Philosophy in Vision Science degree programs.

The UAB School of Optometry held its annual White Coat Ceremony for second-year optometry students on Friday, August 19, 2016 at the UAB National Alumni Society House. The 48 members of the Class of 2019 were presented with the white coats as a symbol of their passage from the classroom into clinical training.

The UAB School of Optometry was saddened to learn of the recent passing of Dr. Larry Alexander. Dr. Alexander served UABSO for 20 years as a Professor and chief of the ocular disease service. He also participated in private practice, served in many administrative capacities, and performed clinical research in glaucoma, diabetes, hypertension, and dry eye.

Timothy Kraft

Dr. Timothy Kraft has been named the first Chair of the School of Optometry’s Department of Optometry and Vision Science.

Patient smiling during the Gift of Sight event.

By Christie Brown

Almost 300 underserved individuals from the Birmingham area received eye exams and glasses at no cost as part of the UAB School of Optometry’s Gift of Sight event that took place December 2-5, 2015.

Anna Ablamowicz andCameron Postnikoff

UAB School of Optometry faculty and PhD trainees, Anna Ablamowicz, OD, and Cameron Postnikoff, MASc, have been named Ezell Fellows by the American Optometric Foundation (AOF).

The AOF recently announced the nine recipients of the prestigious fellowships, named after the organization’s founding president, Dr. William C. Ezell. The program was established to provide talented post-doctoral students who are pursuing an advanced degree in optometric research and education recognition and support. More than 300 Ezell Fellowships have been awarded since the program’s 1949 inception.

An photo of Fleming and a photo of Semes.

UABSO congratulates two long-standing faculty members, Dr. Joe Fleming and Dr. Leo Semes, on their retirements. Their commitment and contributions to the School have been tremendous, and we wish them the very best.

Robert and Sandra Wilson standing and smiling.

Improved eyesight is invaluable, but the cost for some can be prohibitive. With this in mind, Robert G. and Sandra Nichols Wilson have made a legacy gift to establish The Robert G. and Sandra Nichols Wilson Endowed Support Fund in Optometry.

Katherine K. Weise conducting an eye exam on a girl.

UAB School of Optometry & Sight Savers America: An invaluable partnership to Alabama’s Children

Shared with permission by: Nicole Williams & Jeff Haddox (Sight Savers America)

Sight Savers America (SSA) and the UAB School of Optometry (UABSO) have been partners for more than 17 years. The joint collaboration between SSA and UABSO coordinates and provides the following eye care services for children: eye examinations, eyeglasses, specialty glasses, vision therapy, low vision evaluations, electronic video magnifiers, optical vision aids, other treatments and referrals for surgery, and other ophthalmological services.

Congratulations to the following UABSO residents who will be presenting papers or posters at the upcoming American Academy of Optometry meeting in New Orleans, LA. Resident’s Day will take place on Saturday, October 10th. Papers will be from 8-12 and Posters will be from 1:30-3:30. Please stop by to congratulate them and take a look at the interesting patient cases our residents are seeing!

Dr. Wendy Marsh-Tootle smiling and holding a painted sign decorated with handprints which reads "The Pediatric Eye Clinic was built by the vision of Dr. Wendy Marsh-Tootle and the hands she helped lift to heights they never expected to reach".

The UAB School of Optometry proudly recognizes Dr. Wendy Marsh-Tootle as the 2015 recipient of the American Academy of Optometry’s William Feinbloom Award.

Established in 1983, this award is presented to an individual who has made both distinguished and significant contributions to clinical excellence, and to the direct clinical advancement of visual and optometric service.

The UAB School of Optometry is pleased to announce the incoming residents for 2015-16.

COLUMBUS, Ohio – A study of 4,500 U.S. children over 20 years has identified a single test that can predict which kids will become nearsighted by the eighth grade: a measure of their current refractive error.

The refractive error, or eyeglasses prescription, results from mismatches in the size and optical power of the eye that lead to blurry vision.

The study also counters the notion that near work such as frequent reading or sitting too close to the television can bring on myopia, or nearsightedness.

UAB School of Optometry, under the leadership of Drs. Wendy Marsh-Tootle and Kristine Hopkins, was awarded approximately $500,000 in grant funding by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) for the Convergence Insufficiency Treatment Trial-Attention and Reading Trial (CITT-ART). UABSO is one of eight clinical sites nationwide participating in this study.

HPB Second floor floor plan

Construction is underway for the Henry B. Peters Building exterior renovation project.