Two recent additions to the UAB faculty have been appointed to endowed chairs.

Keith Jones, who recently joined the UAB faculty as chair of the department of anesthesiology, has been appointed to the Alfred Habeeb Chair in Anesthesiology, and Christopher Amling has been appointed as the first holder of the Anton J. Bueschen Endowed Chair in Urologic Surgery and Research at UAB.

The action was taken at a recent meeting of UA Board of Trustees.

Jones, 45, is an Anniston native and a UA graduate who earned his medical degree from the UAB School of Medicine. He came to UAB from the Mayo Clinic, where he was director of the Smooth Muscle Physiology Laboratory.  The Habeeb Chair was established in 1992 and named for a co-founder of the Alabama State Society of Anesthesiologists.

Amling is a noted authority in urologic cancer and in advanced minimally invasive management of urologic diseases, including the use of robotic surgery for prostate cancer. He joined the UAB faculty this past year as professor of surgery and director of the division of urology. Recognized nationally as an expert in prostate cancer and in outcomes research, he is the author of many scholarly articles that have improved methods for diagnosing and treating prostate cancer. He also is credited with developing innovative evaluation tools to enhance the education of surgical residents.

Amling received a bachelor’s degree from the University of Oregon and his M.D. degree from the Oregon Health Sciences University. He completed an internship in general surgery at Oakland, Calif., Naval Hospital, and the Naval Flight Surgery Training Program in Pensacola, Fla. He completed his urology residency at Duke University Medical Center, as well as a fellowship in urologic oncology at the Mayo Clinic. He was a flight surgeon and attained the rank of captain in the U.S. Navy Medical Corps, where he was chair of the department of urology and residency program director at the Naval Medical Center, San Diego, Calif., before being recruited to UAB.

The Bueschen Chair is named for the UAB professor of surgery, who is former director of the urology division and former president of the University of Alabama Health Services Foundation.