Explore UAB

Al M. Best Biostatstics Teaching Award

The Dr. Al M. Best Biostatistics Teaching Award is given by the Department of Biostatistics at UAB to a student enrolled in a Biostatistics degree program with an interest in academics as a career. The award is named in recognition of the distinguished career in biostatistical education of Dr. Al M. Best, Virginia Commonwealth University (VCU). The award was established by Dr. Stacey S. Cofield, the 2018 recipient of the UAB President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching for the School of Public Health (SOPH), in honor of her mentor during her PhD program at VCU.

  • Award Winners
    • 2022: Jiaying Hao
    • 2021: Mary Appah
    • 2020: Not Awarded
    • 2019: Boyi Guo
    • 2018: Christina Glen

Naomi Fineberg Distinguished New Researcher Award

Named for Naomi S. Fineberg, PhD, this award celebrates the leadership and service shown by Dr. Fineberg to the UAB Department of Biostatistics. The award was established to highlight the research accomplishments and potential of students and postdoctoral trainees in the department.

Dr. Fineberg joined the Department of Biostatistics in 2004 as a research professor after working at the Indiana University Medical School for 27 years. She established and served as the head of the Biostatistics Consulting Center until her retirement. From 2007 to 2010, she led the Department of Biostatistics Journal Club, where she helped Biostatistics students critically evaluate and present published research. She served as department chair beginning in 2011 until her retirement in December 2013.

  • Award Winners
    • 2016: Yan Li and Seth Lirette
    • 2015: William Hillegass and Xinyan Zhang
    • 2014: Guoqiao “Peter” Wang and Amber Salter
    • 2013: Michael Sandel and Himel Mallick

Charles R. Katholi Endowed Distinguished Dissertation Award

Named for Charles Katholi, PhD, this award pays tribute to Dr. Katholi's longtime service and support of UAB and the Department of Biostatistics. The award was established to encourage excellence in research and scholarly activities among students in the department. Dr. Katholi began his career at UAB in 1969 as an Assistant Professor of Biomathematics. In 1982 he was named Associate Professor of Biostatistics and Biomathematics, and in 1995 was appointed Professor of Biostatistics. He served as interim Chair of the Department from 1997-1999 and was named Professor Emeritus in 2003. Throughout his career he has consistently demonstrated a sincere love of teaching and commitment to educating students, mentoring many students. He is a valued mentor and role model to faculty members.

  • Award Winners
    • 2022: Dr. Boyi Guo
    • 2021: Dr. Rouba Chahine
    • 2020: Dr. Justin Leach
    • 2019: Amanda Pendegraft
    • 2018: Allison Fialkowski
    • 2017: Yan Li
    • 2016: Hwasoon Kim
    • 2015: Brandon George
    • 2014: Peng Li
    • 2013: Samantha Seals
    • 2012: John Bentley
    • 2011: Nathan Wineinger
    • 2010: Hongjiang Gao
    • 2009: Scott Keith
    • 2008: Tamekia Jones

Janet L. Norwood Award

The Janet L. Norwood Award for outstanding achievement by a woman in the statistical sciences was established in 2002 to recognize Dr. Norwood's achievements, but also to recognize the contribution of all women to the statistical sciences. The recipient of the annual award will be an internationally recognized statistician.

Learn more about the Janet L. Norwood Award

Lou Wooster Public Health Hero Award

The Lou Wooster Public Health Hero Award is presented annually to recognize individuals, groups, or organizations who are unconventional public health heroes. The award was established in 2007 and honors Lou Wooster, a 19th century Birmingham madam who risked her life to care for the sick and dying during the 1873 cholera epidemic and who helped ensure the city's survival.

Learn more about the Lou Wooster Public Health Hero Award

Back to Top