Explore UAB

Call for Nominations

The Department of Biostatistics is pleased to request nominations for the Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. Dates for submissions are listed below.

Eligible individuals are women who:

  • have completed their terminal degree;
  • have made extraordinary contributions and have an outstanding record of service to the statistical sciences, with an emphasis on both their own scholarship and on teaching and leadership of the field in general and of women in particular; and
  • if selected, are willing to deliver a lecture at the award ceremony.

How to nominate

Please send a full curriculum vitae accompanied by a letter of not more than two pages in length describing the nature of the candidate's contributions. Contributions may be in the area of development and evaluation of statistical methods, teaching of statistics, application of statistics, or any other activity that can arguably be said to have advanced the field of statistical science. Self-nominations are acceptable. Electronic submissions of nominations are encouraged.

Deadline for receipt of nominations is Friday, July 12, 2024.

The winner will be announced by Friday, August 2, 2024, and the lecture will be on September 20, 2024.

Please send nominations to: norwoodawd@uab.edu

Dr. Janet L. Norwood was the first woman commissioner of the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics and is past president of the American Statistical Association. She was the Presidential appointment to the Chair of the Advisory Council on Unemployment Compensation from 1993-96. From 1979 through 1991, Dr. Norwood was the U.S. Commissioner of Labor Statistics, responsible for the Bureau of Labor Statistics and its work in compilation, publication, and interpretation of statistics on employment and unemployment, prices, compensation, industrial relations, productivity, and economic growth. She testified monthly before the Joint Economic Committee and frequently before other Congressional committees. In recognition of her public service, Dr. Norwood received Distinguished rank in the Senior Executive Service from President Reagan.

The School of Public Health is pleased to present the Janet L. Norwood Award for outstanding achievement by a woman in the statistical sciences. The school wishes not only to recognize Dr. Norwood's achievements, but also to recognize the contribution of all women to the statistical sciences. It is noteworthy that women have been traditionally underrepresented many fields of science, with the degree of underrepresentation greater for the quantitative sciences. This denies the field the benefit of the great contributions women are obviously capable of making to the statistical sciences.

Establishing this award helps promote the active involvement of women in the statistical sciences at all levels, from high school through senior faculty and scientists. The award is part of the School's proposal to develop an integrated series of activities based locally at UAB and in the Birmingham, Alabama, area. We design these activities to have global impact by

  1. cultivating the role of individual women who can progress to work in the statistical sciences beyond UAB;
  2. serving as a demonstration project that that can be disseminated to other universities for emulation; and
  3. conducting selected activities at UAB and at national scientific conferences that promote the role of women in the statistical sciences by both word and example.

The recipient of the annual award will be an internationally recognized statistician. The recipient will receive an honorarium, give a distinguished lecture at UAB, and meet with students and young faculty at UAB. This lecture will be widely publicized and attendance strongly encouraged from all undergraduate and graduate students in the quantitative sciences, especially women.

Support the Janet L. Norwood Award


  • 2002-2023
    • 2023: Dr. Amita Manatunga, Professor of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Emory University‚Äôs Rollins School of Public Health
    • 2022: Dr. Susan Haliabi, Professor and Chief of the Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Duke University Medical Center
    • 2021: Dr. Bhramar Mukherjee, Professor and Chair of Biostatistics, Professor of Epidemiology and Global Public Health, The University of Michigan School of Public Health; Associate Director for Quantitative Data Sciences, The University of Michigan Rogel Cancer Center
    • 2020: Dr. Leslie Ain McClure, Professor and Chair in the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at Drexel University Dornsife School of Public Health and Interim Director of the Drexel Biostatistics Service Center
    • 2019: Dr. Amy Herring, Professor in the Department of Statistical Science & Global Health Institute at Duke University, co-director of the Duke Forge Health Data Science Center
    • 2018: Dr. Susan S. Ellenberg, Professor of Biostatistics and Epidemiology at the University of Pennsylvania
    • 2017: Dr. Sally C. Morton, Dean, Virginia Tech College of Science
    • 2016: Dr. Francesca Dominici, Professor of Biostatistics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health
    • 2015: Dr. Judith Goldberg, Professor of Biostatistics, NYU Langone Medical Center
    • 2014: Dr. Judith D. Singer, Senior Vice Provost, Faculty Development & Diversity, James Bryant Conant Professor
    • 2013: Dr. Kathryn Roeder, Prof, Statistics, Carnegie Mellon University
    • 2012: Dr. Nancy Flournoy, Professor of Statistics, University of Missouri
    • 2011: Dr. Lynne Billard, University Professor, University of Georgia
    • 2010: Dr. L. Adrienne Cupples, Proffessor, Biostatistics & Epidemiology, Boston University
    • 2009: Dr. Nancy Geller, Director, NHLBI Office of Biostatistics Research
    • 2008: Remarks by Dr. Allison and Dr. Garrison, and the Katholi Award Recipient, Dr. Xihong Lin, Professor of Biostatistics, Harvard
    • 2007: Dr. Marie Davidian, Distinguished Professor, Statistics, NC State
    • 2006: Dr. Janet Turk Wittes, President, Statistics Collaborative Inc.
    • 2005: Dr. Clarice R. Weinberg, NIEHS Biostatistics Branch Chief
    • 2004: Dr. Alice S. Whittemore, Professor & Co-Chair, Health Research & Policy, Stanford
    • 2003: Dr. Nan M. Laird, Henry Pickering Walcott Professor, Biostatistics, Harvard
    • 2002: Dr. Jane F. Gentleman: Director, Division of Health Interview Statistics, NCHS & VP ASA

View Selected Lectureships

Back to Top