Department of Physics

home_img_roll_8The Department with 20+ faculty has active research programs in four areas: biophysics, computational & theoretical physics, condensed matter & material physics, and optics & laser physics. The laboratories of the faculty and facilities of research centers are very well equipped, including the following major experimental capabilities: high-pressure diamond anvil cells for electrical, magnetic, & structural measurements, EPR spectrometry, M√∂ssbauer spectroscopy, terahertz time-domain & magneto-spectroscopies. UV/VIS/NIR spectroscopy, infrared spectroscopy, fluorescence and Raman spectroscopies,micro-Raman imaging spectroscopy, photoluminescence spectroscopy, selective time resolved laser spectroscopy, time domain reflectometry, Z-scan and degenerate four-wave mixing spectroscopy, and picosecond Nd:YAG lasers and mid-IR lasers for optics and laser physics research. In addition, facilities are available for the growth of materials and nanaostructures and their structural characterizations including two microwave plasma chemical vapor deposition (MPCVD) diamond deposition system, three magnetron-source (dc & rf) sputtering system, a pulsed laser deposition system with a novel nanoparticle beam PLD source, an aerosol reactor for nanostructured materials, sol-gel synthesis equipment, electrospinner for biopolymers, dip-pen nanolithography equipment, Fourier transform infrared microsope (FTIR), X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy with imaging microprobe, nanoindentor, atomic force microscope, micro-tribometer, and thin film and powder x-ray diffractometer.

xps_01Several other processing and characterization tools are also available, including vacuum evaporators, high power lasers, and various setups for spectroscopic analysis of nanomaterials. A scanning electron microscope with XDS located in engineering was procured from a joint UAB physics-engineering grant from NSF.

In addition, the Department of Physics is the home to two UAB interdisciplinary research centers, the Center for Nanoscale Materials and Biointegration (CNMB) (Director: Dr. Yogesh K. Vohra) and the Center for Optical Sensors and Spectroscopies (COSS) (Director: Chris M. Lawson; Co-Director: Sergey B. Mirov).