Explore UAB

Mia L. Geisinger, D.D.S., M.S., was named acting chair of the UAB School of Dentistry Department of Periodontology. She steps in as Nicolaas Geurs, D.D.S., M.S., serves as the school’s interim dean.

School of Dentistry BuildingGeisinger is a Professor and Director of Advanced Education in Periodontology. A Diplomate of the American Board of Periodontology, she was recruited to the department 2008 and appointed Predoctoral Periodontal Program Director, a position she held until 2015 when she was named Director of the Advanced Education Program in Periodontology. Her service to the university includes chair of the School of Dentist ry Faculty Council, UAB Health Leadership Academy advisory board member, and CODA Site Visit Preparation Team member. She was also selected as a Most Excellent Fellow by the Alabama Dental Association (ALDA) in 2023.

Her national leadership includes service as President of the American Academy of Periodontology Foundation (AAPF) and as Chair of the American Dental Association’s Council on Scientific Affairs. She currently serves as Vice President of the American Academy of Periodontology (AAP), as a Board member for the ADA Science and Research Institute, and on numerous AAP, AADOCR and ADA committees and task forces.

Geisinger has authored more than 75 peer-reviewed publications and serves on the editorial board of several journals. Her research on COVID-19 and its impact on dentistry was recognized with back-to-back Cuspie awards in 2022 and 2023. She has been cited in numerous ADA, AAP, UAB, and other news releases.