Explore UAB

Abstract image of industrial air ducts in a large warehouse.

martha bidez 2011The Dr. Martha Bidez Endowed Memorial Scholarship was created in memory of Dr. Martha Bidez, the first Graduate Program Director of the Master of Engineering in Advanced Safety Engineering and Management. Her career spanned more than 35 years and helped make the world safer place. After earning multiple engineering degrees from UAB, Dr. Bidez led a distinguished career in both the academic and private sectors that established her as one of the nation’s foremost authorities in safety engineering.

Scholarship Criteria

  • Be currently enrolled in the ASEM Program at UAB.
  • Demonstrate solid academic promise, completed at least 6 credit hours in ASEM and have earned at least a 3.0 GPA in coursework completed prior to the time of the application.
  • Demonstrate leadership in the safety field. Applicants can show leadership through work initiatives, leadership positions in professional societies, or other leadership roles that advance the field of safety engineering.

Award Recipients

  • Layla Lahoud, 2022-2023
  • Edwin Cueva, 2020-2021