Partnership and collaboration is a key aspect of our strategy. Our team has intentionally developed and participated on committees to have a national and organizational impact for wellness in academic medicine and healthcare.


National Academy of Medicine: David A. Rogers, M.D., serves on the Collaborative of Clinician Well-Being and Resilience to contribute to the national conversation around clinical well-being. He participated on the committee responsible for developing a collection of resources that highlights strategies and tools for healthcare leaders and workers.

National Center for Healthcare Leadership: Katherine Meese, Ph.D., serves as the Inaugural Chair of the Well-Being Leadership Excellence Network. The council helps organization leaders make informed decisions on how to best invest resources for maximum well-being impact.

Pediatric Resident Burnout-Resilience Consortium Study: Lauren Nassetta, M.D., serves as the site’s primary investigator. The PRB-RSC is a member-run organization that leads Graduate Medical Education in identifying causes and testing interventions that address burnout prevention and mitigation.


UAB Health Promoting University: The University of Alabama at Birmingham was the first in the United States to adopt the Okanagan Charter to become an internationally recognized Health Promoting University. David A. Rogers, M.D. serves on the committee to contribute to the well-being of people, places, and planet.

UAB Suicide Prevention Leadership and Implementation Team (SPLIT): Nisha Patel, MSHA, MBA, was appointed by the University President to serve on the UAB Suicide Prevention Leadership and Implementation Team (SPLIT). SPLIT is tasked to provide leadership to the UAB campus in developing and directing recommendations and implementing initiatives for suicide prevention and awareness.

UAB Employee Wellness Advisory Group: Nisha Patel, MSHA, MBA, serves on the UAB Employee Wellness Advisory Group. Members of this team make recommendations, particularly regarding employer health benefits, to improve employee wellness and health.

UAB CORE Scientific Working Group on Healthcare Worker Well-Being: Katherine Meese, Ph.D., co-leads the CORE scientific working group on healthcare worker well-being with physician and APP colleagues. This working group comprises members from medicine, sociology, health services administration, industrial-organizational psychology, business and nursing. They work collaboratively to conduct research related to the well-being of healthcare workers.

UAB Medicine Staff and Faculty Wellness Champions: Cohorts of Wellness Champions have been developed through the UAB Medicine Office of Wellness. Led by David Rogers, M.D., and Nisha Patel, MSHA, MBA, Wellness Champions represent teams, units, or departments and are responsible for promoting wellness resources. The network of Wellness Champions partner with each other to share best practices and elevate individual initiatives to promote a culture of wellness.