The UAB Department of Pathology is excited to announce our Chief Residents for the 2023-24 year and thank our 2022-23 Chiefs.

We would like to acknowledge the superb example that our 2022-23 Chiefs Drs. Sarah Anderson, Sarah Depew and Geoffrey Herndon have set over the past year. They excelled in their leadership positions, and we thank them all for a job well done.

Our 2024 Chief Residents, effective Tuesday, February 1, 2023, are:

Brooke Bartow, M.D. – Chief Resident of Anatomic Pathology

Bartow Brooke

Dr. Bartow is currently completing her PGY2 AP/CP residency year, and is a graduate of E. Tennessee State University College of Medicine. She plans on pursuing a fellowship in dermapathology and will be applying in the summer.

"It is an honor and privilege to serve as the AP chief resident.  I feel very fortunate to have the opportunity to represent, advocate, and support my fellow co-residents. I'm excited to work with the other chief residents and program leadership to continue advancing the quality and reputation of our strong residency program. "

Michael Robinson, D.O. – Chief Resident, Education and Outreach

Robinson Michael

Dr. Robinson is currently completing his PGY2 AP/CP residency year, and is a graduate of Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Missouri. He plans on applying to fellowship positions in the coming months, most likely with surgical pathology.

“I am humbled and honored to serve as chief resident. I hope to adequately fill the shoes of my predecessors and lead by their exampl

Jacob Havens, D.O. – Chief Resident of Clinical Pathology

Havens Jacob 

Dr. Havens is currently completing his PGY3 AP/CP residency year, and is a graduate of Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Stratford, NJ. He will stay on at UAB Pathology as a hematopathology fellow in 2024-25.

"I'm honored to have been selected as chief, and I am very thankful for our supportive group of residents. My goal is to positively impact resident education in clinical pathology while providing high quality patient care."

We are excited to present the 2023-24 chief residents to you, and grateful to our outgoing chief residents. As usual, February will serve as a transition month between outgoing and incoming Chief Residents. Thank you all for your hard work and dedication to our program—we look forward to a fantastic year.

In addition, we would like to announce our new Resident Leadership Group, made up of the following:

Resident Leader in Engagement: Gian Piero Carames, M.D., PGY1. Dr. Carames will be responsible for social and wellness efforts for trainees.


Resident Leader in Advocacy: Amy Theriault, D.O., PGY1. Dr. Theriault will be responsible for medical student relations and outreach efforts.


Resident Leader in Communications: Alyssa Lee, M.D., M.S., PGY1. Dr. Lee will be responsible for amplification of our program via social media and working with the Pathology Communications Team.

Lee Alyssa2

We are excited to begin the new year with this team in place, building upon the work of those before them. Congratulations to our resident leaders, we look forward to good things to come this year.