Explore UAB

Three UAB Pathology professors, each internationally renowned in their respective specialties, have been honored with the establishment of endowments in their names.

At the February 2021 meeting, the University of Alabama Board of Trustees approved the establishment of two endowments and the renaming of one endowment supported by UAB Pathology, to honor our esteemed colleagues. The Translational Research Endowed Professorship in Pathology, held by C. Ryan Miller, M.D., Ph.D., is renamed the Vishnu Reddy Translational Research in Pathology Endowed Professorship, after Dr. Vishnu Reddy. The department also announces the establishment of the Gene P. Siegal Endowed Professorship in Pathology, and the Ona M. Faye-Petersen Endowed Professorship in Pathology.

Vishnu ReddyVishnu Reddy, M.D., Professor, Anatomic Pathology   Head shot of Dr. Gene Siegal, MD (Professor/Director, Anatomic Pathology) in white medical coat, 2017.Gene Siegal, M.D., Ph.D., Robert. W. Mowry Endowed Professor, Anatomic Pathology, and Interim Chair, UAB Department of Genetics    RS8679 ona faye petersen 1Ona Faye-Petersen, M.D., Professor Emeritus, Anatomic Pathology

These three individuals each have different specialties, but all three have several things in common: Each has been with UAB for more than 20 years; each has had such a distinguished career, they are all recognized as among the top experts in their respective specialties; and each have held leadership roles within UAB and in national and international professional/medical organizations.

All three are internationally recognized for their work, Dr. Faye-Petersen for perinatal and gynecologic pathology; Dr. Siegal for cancer biology and bone tumors; Dr. Reddy for hematopathology and bone marrow research. All three bring tireless devotion to their craft with them to work at UAB Pathology every day.

In November 2020, Dr. Siegal was named to the inaugural class of fellows, Sigma Xi, "for distguished contributions as a physician scientist and for exemplary scholarship as a teacher, mentor, author, reviewer and editor, and as a leader in academic medicine." A full description of his induction and recap of his laudable career is found here.

Dr. Faye-Petersen earned emeritus status in August of 2020 after semi-retirement. In 2019 she established the Ona M. Faye-Petersen Educational Support Fund, which provides funds for supplemental learning opportunities for trainees in Anatomic Pathology.

Dr. Reddy was honored by the department in March 2019 with the dedication of the Surgical Pathology conference room in North Pavilion, Room 3554, in his name. In June 2019. Reddy was recognized by the School of Medicine Dean's Excellence Award for service as a senior faculty member. Reddy has served as Hematopathology Chief Consultant for UAB for more than 25 years, and covers a wide array of clinical services in Laboratory Medicine, Anatomic Pathology, and Hematopathology, in addition to his role as Section Head of the Laboratory Hematology and Bone Marrow Lab.

The department is honored to have such distinguished faculty members among our ranks, and to recognize them with these endowed professorships in their names.