The 2023 Tri-State Pathology Conference took place Saturday and Sunday, April 29-30, for the first time in four years, at the Lodge at Gulf State Park, bringing together the Alabama Association of Pathologists, the Louisiana Association of Pathologists, and the Mississippi Association of Pathologists for a stellar lineup of presentations. The event was co-sponsored by UAB Pathology and featured lectures from our faculty throughout the day, on a variety of topics representing their many areas of expertise.

Andrea Kahn, M.D., President of the Alabama Association of Pathologists, and Professor, Anatomic Pathology at UAB pathology, delivered the conference's opening and closing remarks and acted as emcee for the event. 

C. Leilani Valdes, M.D., Chair, Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and Laboratory Medical Director, Citizens Medical Center,
Victoria, Texas, delivered an update on the College of American Pathologists. She serves as Chair of the CAP Professional and Community Engagement Committee, member of the Council on Membership and Professional Development, DEI Workgroup, Quality and
Clinical Data Registry Affairs Committee, and Pathologist Pipeline Workgroup, and a delegate with the House of Delegates.
Williams R Bruce

Lectures throughout the weekend included talks by Andrew Bellizzi, M.D., Clinical Professor of Pathology, Director of GI Pathology, University of Iowa, and Carlos Parra-Herran, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology, Brigham and Women's Hospital. UAB Pathology faculty Drs. Deepti Dhall, Manuel Lora Gonzalez, Diana Morlote and Frida Rosenblum also lectured at the event.

Many residents from Alabama, Mississippi and Louisiana presented posters at the event, including UAB Pathology's own Drs. Kesley Green, Alyssa Lee, Damien Roland, Sarah Anderson, Christine Pesoli, GianPiero Carames, Michael Robinson and Kyle Joseph.

IMG 6115 IMG 4027 IMG 4035 IMG 0225

IMG 0223 IMG 0215 IMG 0217

Congratulations to Dr. Sarah Anderson, PGY4 and Chief Resident, (above, right) whose poster was selected as one of three award winners, for her poster on, “Clinicopathologic Characterization of Pathologically Diagnosed Hepatic Adenomas in Males."

For a full event agenda click here.